We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HIDDEN GEM, FRIENDLY STAFF...PUT THIS ON UR LIST OF PLACES TO STAY IF YOU VISIT SHEFFIELD”
Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I recently visited Sheffield for my friend’s wedding in September 2010, as the wedding was a few miles out of the centre I was looking for an alternative place to stay from the usual generic hotel chains & whilst searching I stumbled upon this little hidden gem on laterooms.com. Everything about our stay was to a very high standard....the staff on arrival were welcoming & extremely helpful, our room upon entry was clean warm welcoming & spotless, We found the decor to be very modern but with a country twist...the views from the hotel windows were glorious & it was an absolute bonus that the onsite parking is free to all guests. This hotel is 10 min’s drive or taxi ride (about £8) into the centre of Sheffield so is easily accessible if you are there to party the weekend away. To summarise my experience id say " A FANTASTIC HIDDEN GEM WITH FRIENDLY STAFF PUT THIS GUEST HOUSE ON YOUR LIST OF PLACES TO STAY IF YOU VISIT SHEFFIELD " :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARLEY-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 379 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2010

Nice rooms rather spaceious although our bed looked like it had been in a tropical storm (made realy untidily) the quiet was pushed so far under the bed the bottem end stuck up, one of the pillowcases had a nice boogie on it, my bath had hairs allover it, the floor looked like it hadn't been hoovered nice staff although the young bar lad seemed to have great interest in my girlfriend more than letting us purchase wine

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javahaulage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Wonderful, little hotel, tucked away on edge of Peak District and Sheffield city centre. Chosen last minute for price really, as celebrating birthday with family who live in Derbyshire. Also tied in with visiting Sheffield as possibly University choice for one of my children.
The hotel is wonderful, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful setting, didn't want to leave the sunny beer garden as view was great with the Alpacas in next field. Food was gorgeous and good value too. We had an extremely pleasant stay and will definately be visitng again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LollyRobinson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

The Norfolk Arms was recommended to us, by friends who have previously stayed here.
We stayed here on 3rd June 2010 in room 13. which was clean,well presented,with adequate wardrobe and drawer facilities. with an extremely comfortable bed. a decent sized ensuite bathroom. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from checking in to checking out next morning. Inside the hotel bar there is a extensive range of available drinks and food. We took our drinks to the outside seating area as the weather yesterday was a brilliant warm summer evening. The views from the outside seating area is fantastic overlooking Mayfield Valley and beyond.
The only negative was the full english breakfast priced at £7.95 although the food was of good quality - the quantity was quite sparse and perhaps £4.95 would have been a more appropriate price. However the room rate of £44.00 was excellent value.
We will definitely stay here again soon - and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertnSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

My partner and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Norfolk Arms and have had a wonderful time. The location is perfect for visiting the Peak District or for the city of Sheffield. Our room ( No. 4) was large and comfortable and had a very nice refurbished bathroom. Although the room overlooked the road it was quiet and the noise of the traffic wasn't noticeable. Full English breakfast was very tasty, the evening meals enjoyable and the staff were more than helpful. All in all excellent value for money.
Frank and Fiona

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed at The Norfolk Arms Sheffield which has recently been re-furbished. The staff and I mean everyone were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were very clean and nice bathrooms and beds. Would recommend. Food was great, typical pub food and good selection of beers and wines at sensible prices. Outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzureeChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x111sar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
4.6 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
525 reviews
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
786 reviews
9.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
250 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: $67 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing