We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place that has special memories for me personaly..”
Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place that has special memories for me personaly..”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have visited many times for many occasions, but mainly in the summer as it is a great place to sit outside overlooking some great countryside.
I recently stopped overnight in the four poster room which had fantastic views from all 3 windows and I kept the curtains open all night. just wish they did offers on this room as I would stay more often. the bed was very comfy and I am fussy when it comes to comfy beds.
breakfast was cooked well but they need to improve on bar food as it has been poor on a few occasions and there are no excuses for poor food.

Room Tip: family room on the back is spacious. four poster has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Rachel, thanks for your kind words.
We do have “last minute” deals on all of our rooms, including the Mayfield View four-poster room. We may also look into running some offers and promotions during the summer so please keep an eye on our Facebook page and website for more info.
We apologise if you have not enjoyed your food on your recent visits. It would be much appreciated if you could e-mail your comments on this matter to us at enquiries@norfolkarms.com. We are always looking to improve on our service and standards and any feedback is helpful.
Thanks again for the review,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    109
    34
    26
    24
See reviews for
92
135
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Spectacular setting on the edge of the Peak District overlooking Sheffield. From the website I expected more of a traditional pub feel but it turned out to be a small/medium hotel with modern, clean, good sized bedrooms. Would have appreciated a warning that Monday is jazz night and our room was directly over the band room, although it finished by 11pm.

Dinner was fairly standard pub-grub, nothing special. Decent breakfast.

Good last minute price via booking website.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Dave, thank you for your review.

We have tried to maintain the feeling of a traditional pub in our bar area – especially at the bottom end – the “Walkers Bar”, while also combining the more modern feel of our rooms. The bar is especially “cosy” during winter, when we have our log burning fires running in both the main and walkers bar areas.

Apologies for the lack of warning re: the Jazz night. This takes place every Monday evening between 8:30pm and 11:00pm in the Mayfield room. We are aware that this is not to everybody’s tastes and we do attempt to pre-warn guests, however it appears that on this occasion the members of our team who booked and checked you in failed to inform you. For this we apologise and we will try to ensure that this does not happen again in future.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Rude staff especially in the bar unless you're known to them.
Worse still was the language outside our room coming from the cleaning staff in the morning.not what we expected from this kind of establishment.One young girl was particularly in need of customer service training!
A pity because it's such w beautiful setting.
Shall not return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owl164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I would like to apologise for your unpleasant experience during your stay with us.

We take customer service very seriously, and as you can see from other reviews we are regularly praised for our friendly and polite staff.

It appears that one or two members of our team have behaved inappropriately, which would be out of character for any of them. It would be much appreciated if you could e-mail more information regarding the “rude staff” and the language that you experienced so that we can identify the staff in question and ensure that this does not happen again in future. You can contact us at enquiries@norfolkarms.com.

Apologies once more, and thank you again for your comments. We hope to hear from you soon re: the above.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Called the Norfolk Arms yesterday at sundown and explained we were 8 hungry climbers and asked if they were still serving dinner! The staff set us up a table in the back restaurant and took our orders at the bar when we arrived- bearing in mind this is around 9.00pm and their pub quiz is about to start! It was busy, especially with the quiz but the staff were extremely welcoming and keen to accommodate us, even setting up a heater by our table as we'd just come in from spending all evening outdoors. Food was great pub grub- and I appreciated they didn't have all items left by 9pm and we were told what was no longer available beforehand so we weren't disappointed when ordering. Amazing value for money, will definitely visit again. I had the gammon and was very pleased with the portion sizing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACMARTIN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words – you’re more than welcome anytime!

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A recently refurbished and well-appointed hotel on the northern edges of Sheffield combining the countryside with proximity to the city. Good food, large car park and free WiFi. Excellent and very pleasant staff. Our room was a good size with a large double bed; there was plenty of space for hanging clothes. Very comfortable, quiet and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Peter, thank you very much for your kind words, it’s much appreciated.

We’re all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stopped in on our way to Derbyshire for a light lunch. Only one table occupied - and they were eating their main course. We ordered a steak sandwich and homemade fishcake and chips.
20 minutes later they arrived. Thank goodness we were not fifth in a queue! We would still have been waiting at dinner time. Food was average but hardly worth the wait with so many other places to eat only a few miles away. Drinks were "pour your own" from the bottle, but there was one more customer/old friend arriving so naturally we came second.
If ever you are driving past Ringinglow and see this dark and uninviting place, keep driving.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Alan, thank you for your review.

We would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your lunchtime visit to the Norfolk Arms.
I do feel however that your comments regarding how long you waited for your food are unfair. As stated in our menu, a lot of our food is homemade and cooked from fresh, and may incur a wait while the meal is prepared.

The fishcakes, as you mentioned above, are homemade. Being quite “chunky” they take a while to be pan-fried and then baked through. It takes between 15 and 20 minutes to ensure that they are thoroughly cooked. To ensure that all of the guests on a table eat together, any other accompanying dishes will obviously be delayed while the fishcakes are being cooked.
Further to this, we do not consider 20 minutes to be a long time for any meal to be prepared properly. Ourselves, and many similar establishments aim to serve food within a 20 – 25 minute time-frame to ensure that it can be cooked thoroughly and prepared with due care.

Re: your comment about the drinks being “pour your own” – customers are not usually invited to pour their own unless they have purchased certain bottled drinks, such as a mixer to accompany a spirit or a bottled beer. I would appreciate it if you could contact us at enquiries@norfolkarms.com with more specific details so that we can look into this matter.

Apologies once more, and thank you for taking the time to comment.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed one night with partner on a voucher deal. Nice surroundings. Easy check in. Room clean and spacious with nice decor. The bar/restaurant was extremely busy.
All staff very pleasant and owner even came over to ask if everything was OK.
Food was good and service prompt.
Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyblahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications. at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi, thank you very much for your kind words. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and have taken the time to comment.

We hope to see you again soon.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
736 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
420 reviews
7.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,004 reviews
9.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Property: The Norfolk Arms
Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing