We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good value for money”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in early August and thought it was very good value for money. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was very big, nice but basic but for what I paid it was well worth it. Some of the finishing touches around the bathroom were not great and there were some marks on the carpet but the room was extremely clean and the tea and coffee making facilities were good. The TV worked and the bed was extremely large and very comfortable.
The pub is nice and the food is ok, nothing fantastic but fine for an evening meal.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    106
    30
    26
    24
See reviews for
86
133
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have always been happy with our lunch at this pub, but today we sent our food back , it was awful burnt and under cooked food at the same time ! it was just shocking, we have never seen food so bad. We have previously been coming here for 10 years or more, we only live down the road. we will not come ever again. the quality of food just so bad other customers walked out when they saw our meals. The bar staff were ok they just gave us our money back and we walked out. nobody said sorry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEC040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Three of us could not finish our food. The pie was meatless. The ciabatta was hard, chips cold and the risotto could have hung wallpaper. Coffee cups dirty. Pity because the young staff were pleasant, hardworking and apolologetic - but where was the manager. Such a shame because huge potential.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linny722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We arranged to meet friends at the Hotel for lunch today, as we had previously enjoyed bar meals there recently. The experience today, however, was not memorable from the quality of food point of view, it was very poor I am afraid.
We all had steak pie on my recommendation (previous experience was good) but after waiting over1 hour, the result was awful.
The pie was freshly cooked, which probably explained the waiting, but the chief must have run out of filling, because two of the pies had no more than three small pieces of meat in each, and the other two feared little better. The vegetables which accompanied the meals were only just warm.
Having pointed this out to the manager, we were offed a replacement pie! The meal was already ruined by now so further food was refused. No compensation nor explanation was offered as to why the gravy in the pies was totally different from the contents. Poor display all round.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Norfolk Arms near Sheffield is a lovely hotel. Rooms were clean, beds comfy and bathroom modern fittings. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They even put our ice blocks in their freezer to be frozen ready for an outdoor wedding we were going to on Saturday. The food was really nice, especially the full English breakfast and the Pig (pork sandwich) and a beer. We would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We took up four rooms and they were all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalesfan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great pub in a superb location overlooking the Peak District. Managed to pick the "quiz night" and arrived after 9pm so no food available. Very full, but nice atmosphere. Very peaceful nights sleep. Overlooking fields and hills (and Alpackers). Good beers and friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with family over from Australia, Hotel was welcoming by owner and staff, lovely rooms, 1st night we had meal, with it been fathers day, we asked if we could go in another room, which the owner was very helful, the staff was very helfull especially ( Alice) meal was excellent and we slept well after having a walk up Hallam moors, second day we went out to bakewell, coming back our room the cleaning staff did not make our bed as it was how I left it or changed our towels or replaced the tea and coffee, but we did not complain as we thought this was the normal practice, we had second meal in pub on the second night, the staff again was good especially (lucie) but it was a bit disappointed for two of us, we compained and said we could have a free coffee but we declined, in morning the owner was very apologetic as we left as the staff had informed him of our meal situation. We would stay here again and have told family and friends too who like to do walking and biking

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBM5638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#32 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
9.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
7.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Property: The Norfolk Arms
Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing