We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and nice rooms”
Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and nice rooms”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location of the hotel is great if you have a car. Sheffield's Ecclesall Road is only 3 miles drive for a great range of restaurants and nightlife. In the other direction you have the Peak District with great walks just a mile or so from the hotel.
Had some food at the hotel which was nice and reasonably priced. The rooms were about the same price as a TravelLodge. The room was a decent size and clean. The only downside was there was no complimentary soap, only some gel that was sealed to the side of the shower and the radiator was leaking. The temperature in the room seemed to get very hot at night and the control didn't seem to effect the radiator (or turn it off). But besides that it was a good location for us to see Sheffield and the Peak. The staff were very friendly and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyp543212003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    106
    30
    26
    24
See reviews for
86
133
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

After sitting to eat, paying £40+ for food, watching people come and go, being fed and watered, we were still waiting for our food after an hour. We'd only ordered a jacket potato and a panini!!!! We had to gather our own cutlery and condiments, knives were dirty.When enquiring to the delay, no excuse, no sympathy. We had a 3 year old who was hungry and frustrated, absolutely appalling. Never going again!! Avoid if you actually want to be fed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toyamartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Norfolk Arms this bank holiday whilst visiting family in Sheffield. The views from the hotel garden were Magnificent, overlooking rolling hills and the Alpaca farm with Sheffield in the distance. We stayed in the Mayfield room, which had a four poster bed,gorgeous views over the hills, was really spacious and a had lovely freestanding bath in the un-suite. The staff were really friendly and polite and checked that everything was ok for us. Will definately be staying here again.

Room Tip: It is well worth the upgrade for the Mayfield suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Norfolk Arms has the most amazing views. Great Beer Garden. Large Car Park. They welcome walkers & dogs in part of the pub but the rest is carpeted and very traditional. Unfortunately when we booked a table we were not told of a wedding party and we had to wait almost an hour for food. Good pub food. Burgers, steaks, chicken but with good veggie options. We have been previously for coffee as the bar is open all day. Great when you have had a walk and need to rest your legs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I found the pub easily, and got a warm welcome. The room wasn't huge but it was quiet, as I'd requested, with a view out on to open countryside. There was everything I needed - a desk and table, wardrobe, flat screen tv, two chairs (one for working and one more comfy) and the usual tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was comfortable, and I slept very well. I didn't eat at the pub as I'd made other arrangements, but the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. The pub is on the west side of Sheffield, with an easy drive into the city.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyS_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a wedding at the hotel. They did such a great job in looking after everyone. Views are amazing, bedrooms have everything you need and was plenty big enough. Staff were just great and really make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisydooins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just spent the weekend, including Friday night, at the hotel with the Jaguar Group. The service, food, accommodation and staff were all excellent, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.
Our room was very spacious with a triple sized bed and had the tea, coffee facilities as well as the TV etc. The only comment to make was that the carpet could have had a better clean with a hoover.
The Bar area was big enough too accommodate all our party as well as many other travellers. We had a separate room for our Club dinner on both nights and our food was excellent and a special mention has to be made to say how good the service staff were throughout the whole evening on both nights.
The Hotel is situated within easy driving or cycling distance from the spectacular scenery of the "Peaks", and places like, Chatsworth House, are only half an hour away by car.
Overall we would say enjoy the hotel and their staff will make you very welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a large triple bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#32 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
9.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
7.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Property: The Norfolk Arms
Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing