We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, gateway to Derbyshire”
Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I need to admit, the Norfolk Arms holds an attraction for me as it was one of my social haunts back in my teens. Its transformation to hotel has given it a much different feel.

My recent visit was as a traveller, weary from strains of the Derbyshire Hills and desperate for coffee. My friend and I ordered a pot of tea and a cappuccino from the bar. My coffee was very enjoyable and a convivial chat in a couple of easy chairs was just what was required.

The hotel seems welcoming, warm and is located just before you get to the Derbyshire Hills which are but a few miles away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sumowesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 374 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Recommended!
Immediately on our arrival, a friendly greeting was given by the young lady in reception, she was very keen to find out why we were staying and if she can help in any way. The rooms we were given, were large and clean. Possibly a bit more heat in the bedroom and bathroom would have been nice but it was still warm enough to be comfortable.
After an evening meal, we then settled in the bar for the rest of the night. The staff behind the bar were were excellent - good company and knowledgeable about the area and the drinks. We had a good nights sleep in a very comfy bed with large fluffy pillows!
I was not convinced the breakfast was value for money.....for a couple of pennies short of £9, I was expecting a bit more. Was it locally sourced produce as claimed on the poster? Mmmmmm not sure!
This place COULD be terrific......a real gem......superb but it just had that something missing that I can not put my finger on. But do not let that put you off, this is a very pleasant pub / hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezza_S1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The service was very good we had a evening meal and breakfast.
The Evening Meal was very good and it was a little to much for us but we did eat all.
Breakfast was very good, all I can say about that was the cook could have been better mannered.

I know Northern folk are very friendly but came up and said do you want a full breafast or not, but that is one down side of staying at the Norfolk Arms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Used this hotel a couple of times. It's a great location, up on a hill side over looking Sheffield, yet it's so quick to get into the city from there, but also very handy for the Peak District. There are one or two great walks to be done from the hotel front door.

The rooms in the main building are better than the ones round the back in the courtyard. Room 4 is massive. Great beer, good food, though service can be a little on the slow side. Staff friendly, price reasonable. Next time I'm in these parts I'm coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grumpy_academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed for one night mid week with my boyfriend. Decided to stay in the superior room, which was lovely and clean, with great views. Staff very friendly, didn't mind lending us a ice bucket and glasses to take up to our room which was really nice of them. Had a nice meal in the pub area, huge portions!
Great location, plenty of nice walks right next to the hotel, or about a two minute drive and you're in to the peak district.

Would definitely recommend, hope to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexa1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

stayed here for just one night before taking my daughter to hospital...really lovely hotel, excellent staff, delicious home-cooked food, roaring fire, Christmas decs all around (very tastefully decorated, not OTT!), huge bedroom...but just a shame the snow came down that night and we needed to be in Sheffield for a 7am appointment the following morning. However, we took their advice about where to park our car, and sure enough albeit was a very slow journey into Sheffield the next morning, we got there in time! Would not hesitate to stay here again and to recommend this to anyone wanting some good wholesome country grub and/or a delightful room for the night...Happy Christmas :)

Room Tip: we were in room 1...it was HUGE and quiet...perfect :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Friendly staff, down to earth and they try hard to help accommodate you. However, my room was not as well heated as you would expect, my bathroom was cold and the "shower" was a short hand held one in the bath. Made it rather hard work.
The food is home made and large portions with real chips etc. hardly fine dining but good value. Good real ales, and well kept (and some at £2 a pint)
One large room downstairs for most drinking/dining, a bit noisy.
I suspect, as a hotel, it all depends on the room you get.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
777 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
499 reviews
9.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
246 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: $65 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing