We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good value food”
Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Friendly staff, down to earth and they try hard to help accommodate you. However, my room was not as well heated as you would expect, my bathroom was cold and the "shower" was a short hand held one in the bath. Made it rather hard work.
The food is home made and large portions with real chips etc. hardly fine dining but good value. Good real ales, and well kept (and some at £2 a pint)
One large room downstairs for most drinking/dining, a bit noisy.
I suspect, as a hotel, it all depends on the room you get.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for The Norfolk Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 363 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a 2 night mid week stay in room 13 unlucky for us certainly. A grubby little room in the back yard. Dirty carpet ,hairs in the bed, cold bathroom with a loud fan with no off switch. People filling up coal bucket at 6am outside room. Food poor but nice staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debs50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A small party of hardy bikers stayed here for 3 nights over 12th-15th October. Our room was comfortable and warm, the food excellent, plentiful and inexpensive and a decentbottle of wine for under a tenner, we were very pleased with our chance discovery.

The staff were fantastically helpful, witty and attentive to our needs.

We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartacus1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We held our daughter's wedding reception here and all the guests commented on the good food, warm atmosphere, well furnished rooms for those who stayed but above all the friendliness and efficiency of the staff for whom nothing seemed too much trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great hotel, lovely staff, really handy for The Greystones where our show was, infinitely preferable to Sheff Central Travelodge which is where I usually end up. Internet was a bit poor but no other complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feralpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night with my wife after visiting family near Chatsworth. We arrived late at 10pm and there was a wedding reception disco in full swing. We stayed in room 10 which is one of the newly refurbished rooms. The room was very nice, well decorated and really quite spacious. All was generally in good order and clean. One small complaint was that the heating had been turned down/off and both windows of the room were wide open, so the room was cold. So we had to close the windows, crank up the radiator and go down to the bar for a drink for an hour whilst the room started to heat up. This took 2 hours in the end as only a small single panel radiator in the room This should have been checked by staff earlier in the day really. The bar lacks enough comfortable seating. It is mostly set out with dining tables and chairs as evening food is obviously a big part of their business.The full English breakfast the next morning was very average. Poor tasting tea, cheap quality sausage, tinned chopped tomatoes and cold toast, although the mushrooms were very nice!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Booked last minute mid week break and great value for money. Room was lovely. Breakfast lots of it but some if the bar meals not that good value for money. Overall top place to stay would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flumpcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
758 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
449 reviews
4.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,286 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: $64 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing