We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't believe the good reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Norfolk Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Norfolk Arms
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
London,
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't believe the good reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Driving into the car park, I thought I'd found a real gem to stay at for business meetings in chesterfield. How wrong I was.
Check in was slow due to the receptionist dealing with a complaint on the phone. When they finally acknowledged me, I was given a key and told my room number - no friendly welcome, no information on dining etc.

I went up to my room and on the surface, all seemed fine and went to eat in the restaurant / bar and I have to say the food was very good and the service was adequate.

I returned to my room and went to drawer the curtains and then noticed that most of the curtain hooks where laying on the window sill so had to shove the curtains over the rail to shut out the light.

At about 5am I was woken by two guests having a loud conversation outside my room. This continued for an hour and then the noise of the staff setting up for breakfast took over. I got up and went to use the bathroom and discovered the waste bin hadn't been emptied from the previous guest and I noticed I was covered in bites. This started to make me wonder what else other than the bin, hadn't been cleaned or changed. I think this hotel maybe dog friendly and suspect the bites where flea bites and not begs bugs.

I then went to check out and was already to complain at the point when the receptionist asks "was everything ok with your room" but they obviously had no interest in how my stay was, which means I will not be recommending this place to colleagues and I definitely won't return.

I really cannot believe the positive reviews on TA or the TA certificate in reception. Appalling.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    105
    30
    27
    25
See reviews for
87
133
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Really private comfortable hotel with stunning views over Sheffield /Derbyshire . Everything clean and comfortable and quiet despite being a popular wedding venue . Would definitely stay again. If you're looking for a Peak District break I'd stay here, it's better value that some of the Peak rip off places and you're right on the doorstep of the Peak Park.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilaclilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

just spent a brilliant day and night here for my sons wedding the staff and management are top class nothing is to much trouble for them always smiling and pleasent the rooms were excellant top marks for all the team

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at the Norfolk Arms when attending a wedding in the locality. Travelled through blinding rain to find this lovely hotel amid the very wet but scenic area on the outskirts of Sheffield. Arriving at lunch time, we were warmly welcomed by the staff - and a wonderful open fire! (yes I know it is July but it was chilly outside and very very wet!). We were offered a hot drink and food - even though the kitchen hadn't quite begun taking orders - and though we had phoned to enquire beforehand due to the time of the wedding, our rooms were ready for us enabling us to shower and change before setting off for the service. Our room was very spacious, and if we could have seen through the mist and rain, looked out over the open countryside. Cooked breakfast choice was excellent - and the service was quick. The fire was already alight and the dining room was warm and cosy. All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. This was a little treasure of a find and would recommend it as a lovely place to stay if anyone is planning a visit to the area for walking or short break.

Room Tip: Ask for room 10 - its large and has a lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is the 4th occasion we have stayed at the Norfolk Arms and regret that this time fell short of usual standard. Room still good but unfortunately the corridor smelt heavily of stale smoke which did seep into the room. The menu had changed since our last visit which was good and we had a nice meal downstairs. We were woken by noisy guests around 2 in the morning which was not the fault of the hotel. Breakfast was the most disappointing, there was no table laid for us, however a very helpful man rushed around to prepare the table. The coffee cups were grubby, toast burnt and general standard of cooked breakfast was not up to usual high standard..
c'mon Norfolk Arms you are usually better than this but on a positive the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinGathercole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

There're public footpaths all around the hotel. Guest rooms are just above a pub, but it was surprisingly quiet. Rooms were comfy and clean for our stay although we spent very little time in the hotel itself.

The hotel staff were absolutely fantastic. We had to postpone our arrival by a day when our car broke down in the lake district on a bank holiday weekend. The hotel was happy to change dates without a fuss or extra charge.

Good food and some local beers. Some of the views from the hotel car park and walks were absolutely fantastic.

Apart from the walks near the hotel, we had to drive to most attractions in the Peak District such as Poole's cavern, Monsal trail and Solomon's Temple.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dileep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Booked a double for celebration. Really good value, the room had a fantastic view out the back of the neighbouring countryside. Pity the room was a bit grubby in places.

The staff were very friendly and tried hard; it was extremely busy as it is a pub open to all comers, and at times the staff seemed overwhelmed.

The 'restaurant' seemed to consist of a pub lounge. We waited 40 minutes for the food...although we were warned about the wait..and unfortunately the food was, well, mediocre.

Unfortunately for us our hotel room was nearby two rooms occupied by hysterical and ill-mannered women who were there for a wedding the next day. It would be nice if people learned to behave a bit better when they are in a hotel than they do at home!

However the Norfolk Arms was good value and cheerful and is in a handy posiion for walking either into the peaks or a stunning walk into the city through the Mayfield valley.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvolvingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#32 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
9.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
7.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Arms

Property: The Norfolk Arms
Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Norfolk Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing