We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Was a bit skeptical about staying in a budget hotel but friends and the occasion demanded it.
However I was very very pleasantly surprised, the room whilst basic, the room furnished to a good standard, all very clean and provides exceptional value for money.
The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. Sebastian who assisted with our group at check in, was fantastic and deserves special recognition.
All in all a very positive experience and I wouldn't hesitate to use or recommend this particular hotel or the chain again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batty1Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena. I hope we can welcome you back at Ibis Budget Sheffield in the future.
Kind regards
Rachel Heathcote
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    299
    226
    104
    90
See reviews for
202
301
83
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in a three person room for two nights. We were very pleased with the condition of the room, and the way it was arranged with the bunk bed above the double bed. Would have been nice if the bunk bed had been made, but no problem. We had to ask for an extra towel as we had only been provided with two, but again this wasn't a problem. The semi see-through shower door that separates the shower from the room could be a problem for some people. However for the price we were overall very happy with our experience. All of the staff we spoke to were friendly, the location is good - near a number of restaurants and a tram station so easy access to the city centre. Breakfast was fine, if a little overpriced. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie2112113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back atIbis Budget Sheffied.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

For a budget hotel this was not too bad, however, the fact that it is budget means that it attracts a lot of young groups looking for a cheap hotel to stay in to enjoy a night out in Sheffield. If you stay here on a Saturday night, do NOT expect to get a good nights sleep. We were awoken at 4am by about 40 people congregating in the car park drinking,shouting and, most disturbingly, SITTING ON THE BONNET OF MY CAR - which had the misfortune of being parked right next to the smoking shed! My sister eventually went down to reception to tell them about our car, only to be met with derision and told that they weren't doing anything wrong by sitting on the car! I eventually went out myself and asked them to move. Its worth noting that they do have a security guard who is very nice, but the yobs didn't pay him a blind bit of notice.

I doubt that anything will be changed as a result of customer dissatisfaction, they are undoubtedly making a lot of money by targeting these very groups. My advice, spend a few more quid and stay somewhere nice instead. The taxi fare to town costs over £10 each way anyway thus negating much money saving!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LickyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at Ibis Budget Hotel Sheffield Arena appreciate your feedback, though, and we are addressing the issue.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'll pre-face this by saying I have stayed in budget hotels before. I have no problem with a cheap & cheerful hotel room when spending very little money a night. However I have many issues with my stay in this hotel...

Firstly we paid a £6 supplement for a third person in our room. It would have been nice if we had been provided with more than 1 towel and if the third (bunk) bed had been made - thanks for leaving the sheet though, we did it ourselves!!!!

The room was basic, as expected, however the lack of a telephone to call reception was particularly grating for reasons that will be listed below.

The air conditioning was broken, which meant we had to open our window to cool the room due to the high temperatures. This wasn't enough due to the restricted openings of the window to let anything more than the tiniest breeze in - so I spent the first 5 hours of the night trying to sleep in sweltering temperatures. Then a party of around 20-30 people returned to the hotel. At check-in we had been asked to "respect others" staying in the hotel if we were going out getting drunk. Which to be honest, didn't need saying - we're a group of adults. Yes we're younger than middle age but found this comment particularly stereotypical and quite frankly offensive. So to be woken at 4am and kept awake by this group of DISGUSTING YOBS in the car park, drinking, shouting, screaming, having conversations at the tops of their voices and banging things was absolutely beyond me. No telephone in room so couldn't report to reception/security and no way of opening the window to shout at the people to shut up! Noise continued for over an hour during the night.

We had booked 2 rooms for a party of 5, our rooms were split on different floors (ridiculous!) and despite my friends in the other room having their window shut they too heard the noise. After a while the drunks came into the hotel & made noise on the various floors until they deemed it a good time to go to sleep.

No one on reception in the morning when we checked out to complain to and think that the £63 we paid for the 2 rooms was VASTLY over priced. I could have got a better nights sleep in my car. Which thankfully I parked outside of the Ibis car park as I would not have felt it was safe & secure with this yobbish behaviour taking place in the carpark. Evidence of the idiots was ripe in the morning with cider bottles around the car park!

WILL NEVER stay with accor group again after this!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamJan2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I’m sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Ibis Budget Hotel Sheffield Arena. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously and I am looking into the points raised. I have given further feedback to you direct following completion of our Guest Satisfaction Survey following your stay. I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena in the future.
Kind regards
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a charity ice hockey weekend and occupied four rooms of the hotel. The location was brilliant - hotel backs into Ice Sheffield and is less than 5 minutes walk from the Motorpoint arena. We were spoilt for choice for places to eat as there's a big restaurant, cinema, crazy golf and bowling alley complex a 5 minute walk away.

The rooms were all recently refurbished and very clean. The facilities were fine and the staff were helpful at check in.

Note: there is a £3 charge for car parking and no tea/coffee facilities in rooms (there's a cafe in reception) which is to be expected for £29.00 a night!

Will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

staying at an ibis for the first time July 20th 2013 during the tramlines festival.
I was woken at 3 am by noise in the corridor and went to investigate.
Apparently opposite my room was a stag party returning and the security staff had confronted them regarding their noise levels. There was no noise until security banged on their door - which I explained and was met with foul language and one security man placing his foot in my doorway so I was unable to close it.
I felt very unsafe and reported the matter to the police.
I complained to the manageress whom blamed me for the disruption - disgusting.
I will not stay ibis again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at Ibis Budget Hotel Sheffield Arena appreciate your feedback, though, as we discssed on your day of check out the security team are here to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum to ensure that other guests staying in the hotel are not disturbed. As discussed you were spoken to by security team due to the unacceptable noise levels and were asked to keep these noise levels to a minimum as other guests were being disturbed. The hotel operates a zero tollerence policy of noise and I am disappointed that you feel that being asked to be quite in respect of other guests was unacceptable.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
The Don Valley Hotel
The Don Valley Hotel
#39 of 53 in Sheffield
123 reviews
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
668 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#38 of 53 in Sheffield
442 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena

Property: Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Address: 298 Attercliffe Common, Sheffield S9 2AG, England (Formerly Etap Sheffield Arena)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mr Marco Jadidi, the acting manager of the Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena is a low-cost hotel situated close to the city centre. All 122 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and have an en-suite shower, air cooling and a flat screen TV. A continental breakfast buffet is served every morning. There is a limited amount of outdoor parking and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Sheffield Arena Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing