We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very basic”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Positives: Friendly staff, overall cleanliness, cheap rates, next door to Arena.
Negatives: Tiny room, hard hard bed, thin duvet and pillows, small towels, foot noise from room above, no kettle in room, limited parking.
If you're going to a concert at the Arena and don't want to drive home at midnight try the Premier Inn across the road, well worth another £20.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MS119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis Budget Sheffield. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and your feedback is appreciated to continually improve our level of service and product.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    291
    219
    104
    87
See reviews for
200
288
82
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rushden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked this hotel to go to the motorpoint arena - absolutely fantastic location. Room VERY basic - shower and sink in your room - toilet in a separate cupboard. Very small very basic but does what it says on the tin. Perfect for what we needed really. Staff friendly and helpful easy checkout. Very limited parking. Food/cinema only a short walk away. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank bowiesbabe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Ibis Budget Sheffield and I hope to see you on your next trip.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

this stay was comparable with what i suspect would happen if i didnt pay my council tax!! the only difference between this experience and prison was that i paid £70 for the priviledge!! Room had leak in bathroom which made room smell very foisty, this gradually worsened as room warmed up from its sub zero conditions, the bed was a paving slab wrapped in waterproofing (in case the leak in the bathroom got worse i suspect!) although i was quite impressed that i could throw my 12 stone bodyweight on it without my bed partner even knowing i had moved! to top it off there was no fire alarm so i was unable to test the accuracy of the ''pillow vibrates in event of a fire'' claim posted upon the wall!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank vic0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at Ibis Budget Hotel Sheffield Arena appreciate your feedback. I can confirm that the member of staff who dealt with the leak from your sink during your stay did endeavor to rectify this problem; however the repair required special attention from the hotel maintenance who was not available during the night. I am disappointed that the offer to move to an alternative room was declined. I can confirm that the vibrating pillows in the hotel are tested regularly and are only activated upon the sound of the fire alarm.
Once again, i appreciate your feedback and I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena in the future.
Kind Regards
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is perfect location for the Motorpoint Arena.
Girl on reception very helpful.
Very basic, but hey it's a budget hotel.
The rooms are ensuite, they are clean and perfect for 1 nights stay.
The beds are a little hard.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolaw1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Basic but clean. We had a room for 3, it was very basic, no tea/coffee making facilities. Shower is actually in the room, I was traveling with my children so not a problem for us but it would be if you were a bit shy!! Breakfast was not great though, probably not worth the 4.25 Cheap and location good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mnnbvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry that you were disappointed with our all you can eat continental buffet breakfast for £4.25 per person.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Was perfect location for the Motorpoint Arena and Centerpoint and a short walk to tram for Meadowhall. Hotel was very basic but clean just remember to take your own toiletries as there is only towels and a tiny bar of soap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank NickiDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Budget Sheffield. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed in Ibis hotels before and found them to be a good standard. However I did not realise the huge difference in standard between the standard Ibis and their budget version. This was one of the most basic hotels I have stayed in. There was nothing really wrong with it but nothing really right either.
The location is though absolutely perfect if you are attending an event at the Sheffield arena as it is just a couple of minutes walk and there are lots of eating and drinking places close by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAC102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Ibis Budget Hotel Sheffield Arena. Ibis Budget hotels are one of Europe’s leading budget hotel products. Ibis Budget hotels offer low-cost hotels with well-designed rooms for up to 3 people, and offer highly competitive value for money. The hotel offers limited parking spaces based on a first arrive basis, we have noted your comments regarding the parking. I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena in the future.
Kind Regards
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Don Valley Hotel
The Don Valley Hotel
#38 of 53 in Sheffield
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
656 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena

Property: Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Address: 298 Attercliffe Common, Sheffield S9 2AG, England (Formerly Etap Sheffield Arena)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mr Marco Jadidi, the acting manager of the Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena is a low-cost hotel situated close to the city centre. All 122 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and have an en-suite shower, air cooling and a flat screen TV. A continental breakfast buffet is served every morning. There is a limited amount of outdoor parking and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Sheffield Arena Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing