We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of The Florentine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Florentine
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just one night here, so might short review is based on a stay of aprox 18 hours.

Good points
Ample parking on site
Wonderful room (rm 5) that was bright and very spacious
Very large flat screen HD TV
Free wi fi with a decent signal strength
Choice of real ales

Average points
Food is largely ready prepared and the menu is the same in all Marstons inns. Therefore quality is ok, but not great. Priced ok if you are eating on a 2 for 1 deal, but not great when eating alone

Bad points
Breakfast...... Slow service, overdone and watery poached eggs, cheap quality sausage (very mushy) and bacon that appeared to have been boiled rather than grilled or fried.

All in all, i have stayed in many worse places. The room i was given however was truly wonderful. Had the breakfast been better, i would have scored this a 4. That said, i would stop there again for a night.

Right...off to Cromer next

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 246 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

I didn't expect very much from a suburban hotel but this on disappoints on a number of levels. The top floor was too cold the ground floor so hot it was uncomfortable (and I'm someone who is always cold). After returning from a local restaurant at 10.30pm my party of 8 were refused a drink at the bar because the barman had already cashed up and refused to open the till again! Breakfast was edible and the wifi was good. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean but the shower cubicle was so small its almost impossible to use. Even though this hotel is very well located for my needs I will look for somewhere else for my next stay as the price is too high for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a family reunion here today.food standard.....poor to average and overpriced. Vegetables were almost raw, cold plates and the meat was tough. BUT, the puddings were delicious! Beautiful Inn,very spacious and child friendly. Staff were pleasant but would not eat there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've dined many times at the Fulwood. However, when we needed to be close to family in Ranmoor, we chose to stay.
The staff are all friendly, and the manager who looked after us seemed to engender a 'can-do' attitude.
When we needed to organise for the family to be together, we group booked here.
Would recommend this to anyone - especially if you have travel issues, or unusual encumbrance; the team at the Fulwood are genial and responsive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for the 1st time last night.
Matthew & Andrew made us feel at home, they upgraded us to a larger room at no extra cost to ourselves.
Food was excellent with service at the table with staff who were very knowledgeable regards food & drink.
No noise during the night, we woke refreshed and had an amazing breakfast.
If you're in the Sheffield area, make this place your 1st choice

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueRe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed for one night B&B. Room was very nice, quirky shaped room! Very comfy bed - had a great sleep. The cleaner had missed dusting the bedside lamp and vacuuming the bedroom carpet but otherwise the room was very good. The breakfast - full English as well as cereal and fruit juice, was very good. Man who checked us in was excellent - friendly and informative.
Ample on site parking. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeani_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in two double rooms for one night and the rooms were actually technically outside the inn on the top floor with two flights of stairs. At night, the only exit and entrance was from a side door as the inn was closed at night. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were a little late for breakfast the next morning and they were very accommodating in arranging breakfast for us. The lady who served us could not have been more attentive or pleasant. Whilst checking in, the boy at the desk accompanied us to our rooms and he kindly offered to carry our bags which we politely declined.

The rooms were decent sized; one bathroom contained a bath with a shower over without any curtains to shield the water flying everywhere. Our daughter was trapped in the other bathroom as the doorknob came off whilst the door was locked and she was inside. As this room is on the top floor completely away from the inn, there is no way to ask for help. Luckily she carried her mobile phone in the bathroom and she could call us for us to be able to get this sorted.

Overall it was an okay stay, marred by the bathroom incident, or else I would have rated it 3-1/2 stars. I would commend it for the pleasantness of staff, ample parking outside, quite location and good restaurant in the pub (we did not eat there except for breakfast).

Room Tip: Look for rooms on the first floor unless you want to carry bags to the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tachyphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
0.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
778 reviews
6.9 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#25 of 53 in Sheffield
374 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florentine

Address: 1 Tapton Park Road, Sheffield S10 3FG, England (Formerly The Fulwood Inn Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: $94 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fulwood Hotel Sheffield
Fulwood Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing