We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Leopold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leopold Hotel
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cant wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Tried this hotel to have a weekend escape from the teenagers. Fantastic location, helpful staff. Ate across the square in the Italian, you can charge the bill back to the hotel.
Already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    416
    125
    50
    19
See reviews for
115
473
70
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chorley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Stayed here for a family wedding, was expecting it to be average or worse given the price but this is a really chic, modern hotel with a really nice atmosphere, very friendly staff. It was an incredible deal at only £65 a night. Brilliant location, beautiful and quite spacious rooms, right across from a small shopping centre in the centre of Sheffield. Lovely old building, nice bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laTRIPMONSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

I couldn't believe my luck at getting this fantastic hotel last minute for £55 bed and breakfast. The location is great for shopping and going out in sheffied and the hotel is right next to a nice cluster of restaurants so you dont have to look far for a good dinner. The staff were really friendly, and polite. Rooms are on the small side but this didn't really bother us too much. Stayed for two nights here and could have easily stayed for longer. The shower in our room was amazing. Breakfast was nice, freshly cooked. One thing to note is the parking, no parking on site but the car park the hotel is linked with is very secure and they give you a ticket cheaper i think it worked out at £15 for two nights parking. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elphierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

This hotel is a converted old school house, so that gives it much more character than an identikit lego-land style chain hotel (of which there are many in Sheffield).
Small rooms, but absolutely fine for a few days. Very clean, nice bathrooms and free WiFi. No specific frills, but that suited me.
About 6 or 7 minutes walk from parking in a multi-storey carpark so probably not great for elderly or people with a lot of luggage.
Friendly staff, OK continental/basic fry-up type breakfast. Small bar, looked pretty soul-less.
Right in the centre of Sheffield, which has both pros and cons. Spoiler: Sheffield centre is neither scenic nor packed with nice restaurants or pubs (there are lots of student/scally type venues though).
Verdict: friendly, interesting and convenient venue. Not so good for car access or romance.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonRambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

Stayed here for one night - must say first impressions were very good, lovely looking hotel in a great location. Reception staff friendly and helpful room was compact but perfectly formed - nicely decorated and clean - great bed had a good nights sleep. Would definatley recommend to others wished we had stayed longer maybe next time - we loved it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cumbria72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

This hotel is located in the middle of everything....right along West Street which is like the main street for bars and restaurants. Particularly good for me as it is just 8 min walk from both office locations I had to visit.

It is very new and it uses only the finest material for all its amenities....modern flat TV, iPhone dock clock, sturdy slippers. Free wifi in public area and 10 pounds a day for wired internet in the rooms. I was lucky to be in the 2nd floor close to the lift lobby, and was able to catch the wifi signal in my room.

Breakfast is not bad too...full English breakfast plus fruits and cereal. The staff were very helpful - we arrived early morning and were not due for checkin until 2pm, but they accomodated our request for early checkin into one of the rooms (we are a party of 3 people but the two other rooms were not ready yet) to get changed and freshen up before going to work.

As others noted, most of the rooms had windows facing the inner of Leopold Square, a place of restaurants and bars. It wasn't bad at all for us as we stayed for only Mon-Thu, no crowd at all. But I can imagine it could get noisy for Fri/Sat evenings.

BTW, I don't know if this is now common in UK hotels, but it allows settlement of hotel bills in your local currency (as opposed to settling in GBP and let your card company converts). DO NOT USE that option. I found that its rate is much worse than the my Mastercard's rate (13.4 HKD to 1 GBP as opposed to 13.1 used by my card company).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scl1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Lovely location but sent on very long detour to find carpark. our booking was messed up and the twin rooms we booked were not available so not very convenient for a group pf 4 ladies.
Lovely breakfast on first day but sunday sent into conference room very much second class citizens - no menu choice, make own toast, plastic jams, very disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky53cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel

Property: Leopold Hotel
Address: 2 Leopold Square, Sheffield S1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#18 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leopold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing