We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly average”
Review of Leopold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leopold Hotel
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sadly average”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I may be being over critical of this hotel but I expected so much and was very disappointed at my sadly average experience. Having stayed at other properties in the small luxury hotels of the world "club" I expected amazing service, attention to detail, excellent food and flawless housekeeping. Sadly housekeeping must have been running short on towels that day, failed to remove short and curleys from the bath and it looked like the cleaners might only be 4ft tall as there was so much lime scale and soap scum on the tiles. (Room 123)

We were encouraged to set breakfast in our room due to the (possibly small) dining room getting very busy on a morning. The fruit salad was great but the full English was lacking to say the least.....not even a slice of toast or serving of tomato sauce!

Beware where you park - we read on the website that we should call ahead to park in the Qpark....when we asked "is that the cheese grater one?" We were told yep that's right. However at checkout we were told we had parked in the wrong car park (there's a second Qpark apparently) and we were left with a £2 per hour bill for just over a 24hour stay...

Given the reasonable price I paid I didn't expect anything amazing but given that front desk boasted their hotel to be better than the marriott or hilton we usually stay in, I was disappointed that it measured up to a premier inn....

When we checked out Front desk asked if our stay had been good and when we replied with it was "ok" it was subtly ignored! Why ask if you're not bothered!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinEmbleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback, I did contact you following your stay so please feel free to contact me at any time
Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    423
    127
    51
    20
See reviews for
117
482
70
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My 3rd stay at this hotel and what a gem. Central for everything especially restaurants and shops. Staff can't do enough for you even though the hotel is often busy with Weddings and Christmas parties. Had a LG room this time and was so peaceful. Would recommend all ages. Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and kind words following your most recent stay with us at the Leopold Hotel. I am delighted that you had once again had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel to be centrally located. The staff were very helpful, keen to ensure we had everything we needed and resolved any issues that they could. We booked an accessible room, which while it was spacious, it was cold and the bathroom was freezing. When we told the reception desk they did provide us with slippers and bathrobes. There was no plug in the bathroom basin making it impossible to fill the basin. Closer attention could also be paid to the cleanliness of the bathroom fittings particularly the handrails and other accessibility adaptations.

Disabled access is through a side door into the bar area. It's a 'push bar' door that cannot be opened from the outside so you need to press a bell to get in (which is OK unless its pouring with rain) There is then a wheelchair lift to rise up approx. 1 metre to the 'Ground floor'. Once inside the hotel all areas seem to be accessible and there are no heavy doors (with the exception of the room door). A word of caution: access to the breakfast room has a sign at exactly head height for someone in a wheelchair.

Reserved car parking is available at a secure Q-Park car park about 6 minutes walk away. (there is a drop off/loading bay outside the hotel). A disabled guest staying on their own may find this distance problematic. While the hotel has reserved spaces in the car park there is no control and the spaces appear to fill up during the day with ordinary cars which all seemed to disappear in the evening (the opposite behaviour you'd expect from hotel guests). So if you went out during the day, you might have trouble getting parked on your return.

Bar food is available almost all day and a smaller, but adequate 24 hour room service menu is available.

The breakfast room is in the basement and can be busy at peak times. On the third morning, we were asked to wait upstairs in the bar while our table was made available. There was tea and coffee available while we waited, but it had gone cold, sitting out since 6.00 (I guess). The (continental) breakfast itself is good with a wide range of cereals, pastries, fruit, cheese and meats. Hot breakfasts were also available, but we didn't have one.

We had an enjoyable stay at the Leopold - just a closer attention to detail would have made our stay 'Excellent' earning a rating of 5.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I am glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay and thank your for your helpful feedback.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Family gathering before the annual Memorial service for those wonderful people who have donated their body to Medical Science. Sister organised a lunch..at the Leopold Hotel..in the building that used to house the Education Offices, the Central Technical School..and the City Grammar...where sister went in the early 1960's. Buildings have been wonderfully restored..using the outer stones and mortar...and the very smart interior.

Sister had been in lengthy correspondence with the Hotel....to co-ordinate the numbers, food choices etc...and to ensure that my Coeliac needs could be met. Was wonderfully re-assured...

Now before I go much further...Coeliacs can't eat anything with wheat, barley and rye. Oats I do eat a little occasionally without any adverse effects. I also eat very well....

So the Hotel saying they can confidently cater for me is a bonus...big time. Many chefs see us Coeliacs as a challenge to their creative side...and some make such brilliant efforts....can remember some memorable meals out where this has happened.(well before my Trip advisor days). So I was expecting to write in a glowing way......

16 (15 adults and one almost 6 year old) for the event.

I didn't have starter..nothing I really fancied..I really dont eat a lot these days..so no problems..

Main course was two very thin slices of loin of pork with apple sauce out of a jar. (Was I served the childs portion?) Couldnt have the fondant potatoes..(why not? classic recipe doesnt have gluten). Ditto the roast potatoes. Could have the carrots and the broccoli. No gravy.

Dessert....chocolate mousse/sherry trifle/assorted sponge pudding for the others...and a dish of plain unsweetened yoghurt, topped with fruit salad out of a tin, for me.....
Tea was tepid at best.

The lunch was to commemorate our Mother...one of the finest cooks ever....very well known in Culinary circles...in the city and beyond. Mum would have been suitably horrified at all this...

Yes I have taken it up with the hotel...and the response is also luke warm. They haven't really given any explanation for why what was promised wasn't followed through. Have had plenty of opportunity to do so.

To say I am disappointed...is an under estimation.

Have been offered an afternoon tea as a compensation. Now think about this...sandwiches, cakes, quiches, sausage rolls, scones, flans, shortbreads....all wonderfully flour rich.
Question..dare I??

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ApricotSilk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, I will follow up directly with you on this matter

Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A pleasant hotel in a good location absolutely ruined by the noise pollution from the square. We have stayed in City centre hotels the world over and never had anything so noisy - the staff simply shrugged, apologised and said they were full so couldn't move us. They agreed other people did complain but it should go quiet by 1.30 am - it didn't and we are still awake now. Nothing on the web site prepares you for it - no disclaimer or warning at all.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the weekend unless you expect to be out until the early hours making the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank 25062013DMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest
We have followed up with you in relation to the noise issues last weekend. Please contact me at your earliest convenience.
Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in a mezzanine room which had a lower level seated area, with TV and dining table and bathroom, upstairs led to the bedroom area.

Hotel was very clean, service was great - we had a couple glasses of wine and a bar snack prior to eating out later in the evening. Bar area was really nice, good service and other parties in there celebrating birthdays etc. Location was great for the city centre shops, parking was a 5min walk away in a secure multi storey with discounted rate (q park).

Room was really comfortable. We had breakfast in the room which was delivered on time together with paper as requested :) sounds simple but some hotels can't even manage that! Great hotel and would use again for being in the centre

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kt2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and kind words following your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and hope we get to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel staff here were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The Hotel is in a great location, close to bars and shops. The rooms were extremely well equipped. I would highly recommend this to others and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review the Leopold Hotel following your recent stay. I am delighted that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel

Property: Leopold Hotel
Address: 2 Leopold Square, Sheffield S1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#18 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leopold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing