We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy!”
Review of Leopold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leopold Hotel
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fancy!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I have stated at the leopol approx 10 times now and that is for a very good reason. The place is amazing and not like a big chain hotel at all. Exceptionally decorated rooms and great staff make it a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your most recent stay with us at the Leopold Hotel. I am delighted that you had a great stay and I do hope we get to extend a 'cead mile Failte' to you again soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    422
    127
    51
    19
See reviews for
116
482
70
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

When I first visited the Leopold was for my nans 80th birthday. I must say we were both well impressed with the spacious building. The modern collaborated with the old pleasingly. The whole atmosphere of the building was welcoming and the staff were no doubt very pleasant and helpful.
The room we has a large room which was more like an apartment, with a living area on the first floor and the bedroom on the second floor. We had breakfast in the morning and tasty it was. The traditional afternoon tea was sweet. If it was up to me I would have stayed for longer just for the comfort. There is plenty I could say but overall we were both well and truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jav W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review following you stay with us. I am delighted that you had a great stay and hopefully next time you will get to stay a little longer.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed last weekend with a party of 8. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, room lovely, (funny shape but it is converted school!) ambiance great. Couldn't fault it. Car park is a bit of a hike and finding the drop-off point given Sheffield's one way systems is a challenge but worth it! Thanks to all the employees who were so pleasant and made our stay so good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighty1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Leopold hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at the Leopold for one night at the weekend and it was lovely. The rooms have been refurbished to a high standard. The bed was huge and the bedding relly good quality. The breakfast was nicely presented and the staff attentive. Only down side was that we could hear the noise from Leopold Square which kept me awake for a while. We were at the side of the building so would recommend that you don't accept a room at the back overlooking the Sqaure.
Would definately stay here again if ever in Sheffield.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room at the back overlooking Leopold Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank for your review following your recent stay with us at the Leopold Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed overnight with a friend who was visiting her sister.found the hotel eventually as the entrance is so understated we missed it on the first pass. Reception staff were helpful and polite. We had a mezzanine room which was well appointed and a but different from your run of the mill rooms. It was clean and comfortable.
My only gripe was the lighting. The sensor light comes on in the night if you get up for the toilet which is really infuriating,and woke us both up. Health and safety gone mad again. There are no occasional lamps so it was dark under the stairs and it was not possible to put just the downstairs lights on so when I got up earlier than my friend to read a book the whole room lit up, upstairs and downstairs. Also, vile lighting by the make up/ bathroom mirrors. So apologies Sheffield if we looked like clowns!
It's a good, central location and the hotel is beautifully converted from a school. In the centre is a courtyard with bars and restaurants which we would have explored had we stayed longer.
I would happily go back. And I would try the afternoon tea which looked very nice.

Room Tip: The mezzanine room was worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent stay with us at the Leopold Hotel. I am delighted that overall you had a great stay and note your points on the lighting.
Thank you again and I do hope that we get to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from spending the night at The Leopold. The service we received from every single member of staff was fantastic - would that other hotels had the same standard. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was very comfortable. Despite being in the centre of Sheffield the glazing was such that you were not troubled by any outside noise. An excellent choice for breakfast too. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable and welcoming stay in Sheffield.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LanneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and comments following your recent stay with us.i am delighted that you had a great stay with us at the Leopold Hotel and thank you for taking the time to review us. I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had our wedding breakfast at The Leopold Hotel and I couldn't have asked for anything better. The food was outstanding and even my husband couldn't complain (he's a chef and always complains when we eat out) The staff were friendly, smiling and polite and Alistair was particularly brilliant, always on hand but over crowding. Even the young waiting staff were polite and helpful, helping my niece when her son was ill. I can't praise the staff, venue, food and customer service enough and didn't find it expensive either. Thanks to all at The Leopold for helping to make my wedding day the best day ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopold_Manager, General Manager at Leopold Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Adele F
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent wedding with us. I am delighted that you both a great day with us and that the team looked after you so well. We certainly do hope to see you back at the Leopold Hotel Soon.
Kind Regards
Michael Skehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel

Property: Leopold Hotel
Address: 2 Leopold Square, Sheffield S1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#18 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leopold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing