We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Course improvements and staff changes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dore and Totley Golf Club

Dore and Totley Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located just a few minutes to the South of Sheffield City Centre, Dore & Totley is a well liked and highly regarded private members club with a superb parkland golf course. Visitors will enjoy a warm welcome, in addition to a championship length layout that is sufficient to challenge golfers of all abilities. From the tournament tees Dore & Totley stretches to 6,763 yards, and its predominant character reflects the relatively flat terrain across which it is laid out.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Course improvements and staff changes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Recently had 3 meals with friends cooked by new chef and they were all excellent and good quantities. Staff were friendly and helpful. Course has had a number of improvements and more to be done in the future. It is great to be able to play a full round in a shorter time in winter. In summer the longer course is challenging and we'll worth a try.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    0
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a bad course but rude staff and members”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Thought we'd give this GC a go using 2FORE1 - I've never experienced members so rude before. They obviously do not realise that visitors are pretty important in keeping a GC running. The course is OK, not as picturesque as others and IMO not worth the Green Fee - I definitely won't be returning in a hurry!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dp46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ONe of Sheffields Best Golf CLubs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

A pleasant and well established golf club, currently on a recruitment drive for new members. Really nice facilities, friendly staff. Recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulieB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rude curt and very bad tempered”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The person who I spoke to on the phone was extremely ill mannered. I had tried to book a game as a visitor but was told in no uncertain terms we wouldnt be welcome either as players or diners.If it was possible to give a minus score for this place I would give it an infinately minus score.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank CARL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“unpleasant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

My friend payed for her father & brother to have a game of golf and a meal in advance.
We called in to book on the9th of march only to be told they could not fit us in as they were fully booked for the rest of the month ( this paid for in advance game & lunch no longer applied after 27th of march.)
I found them very unhelpful &arrogant .Surely they could have fitted them in sometime in the
18 days left !
We where left upset & confused ,can they get away with this ? It seems they can.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dore and Totley Golf Club also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Dore and Totley Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing