We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed December 26, 2009

I made this booking online several weeks prior to our stay. I was amazed to receive both a confirming letter and telephone call within a week of our actual stay. Also, on the morning of our stay I got a text message welcoming us and stating directions would be sent to either mobile or sat nav if required. All staff we encountered were so friendly and helpful and gave the impression there was nothing they would rather be doing than working there. Take into consideration that this was Christmas Day when most people would no doubt love to be somewhere else. This attitude is highly unusual in this day and age and therefore immediately noticeable. This was our very first stay at a Premier Inn and it definitely won't be the last. We were totally impressed with all of the above and the room itself was spotlessly clean, very spacious and with all facilities you could possibly want including lovely bathroom with a great shower, TV, kettle with Twinings tea and Kenco coffee (extra supplies on all corridors), hair dryer, bedside lights etc. All this for £29.00! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SixtySomethingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
It is great to hear of your positive experience with Premier Inn. It is so good to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable and that the service provided met your expectations.. At Premier Inn we strive for excellence and are keen to learn from our guests reviews how we can achieve and maintain this. Your feedback regarding our team members is great to hear and your comments will be followed up by our Management Team at our hotel. Thank you again for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    129
    42
    13
    7
See reviews for
141
143
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed 4 nights on a Premier Inn promotion deal and paid £29 per night for a double room. Breakfast was £5.25 each continental and £7.50 for full English. Our experience of this hotel and indeed all the Premier Inn brand hotels is that rooms are clean with all standard facilities of 3 star hotel but no frills. Staff are well trained and friendly.

If you want breakfast its served in the adjacent restaurant - they are standard meals of average quality served in clean modern surroundings. We had one evening meal in this Restauant - its the Taybarns brand - if you have not had a meal in this brand - its basically eat as much as you like for a standard price. We found the experience rather hectic and more Quantity rather than quality. Children seem to love it but it seems to always be busy and I liken it to dining in a railway station.

On our second night we walked approx 500 yards up a very very busy road (be careful if you try this option) to have a bar meal at Tankersley Manor Hotel. The meal was ok but I felt a little ripped off over the cost of a glass of wine.

The Hotel is very convenient for the M1 but your going to have to drive to any tourist sites.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northumberlandscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2009
Thanks for your review. At Premier Inn we endeavour to provide the a good value, quality stay in all our hotels. It is good to hear that you made booking using our £29 offer ensuring you stay was excellent value for money. We are pleased to hear that our hotel, service and breakfast facilities were to your satisfaction. Once again thank you for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stayed in this hotel as we were going to see Nickelback at the arena. The hotel is really hard to find when walking!! and its it a awful location... there is a alley leading from this hotel with a pub it looked really rough and it was really near the market which was really scruffy. I didnt like the location at all! The hotel was really really basic.. a bed and that it, oh and a tv with no remote lol. The bathroom was ok, it was clean. but it was all we needed as it was just somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Jucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Stayed one night, great restaurant next door which we ate in twice.

Very clean, usual amenities, would recommend.

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank broooce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2008

excellant family room very spacious, and well equipped for a family with a double bed, 2 singles and a cot bed,clean and tidy, well priced,good location with a linked restaurant with the most amazing breakfast selection catering for every kind of diet,we almost extended our stay just to eat more.very friendly helpful staff

  • Liked — family facilities and space
  • Disliked — check in from 2 a bit late
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fordsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Staff more than helpful every time I have stayed. Rooms large simple but clean. Decor plain but not offensive. Food/breakfast at the Bar bit basic but again staff very keen to help and serve. And if desperate there is a MacDonalds just over the road and a chocolate machine in reception!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank ***********
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
1.6 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
236 reviews
2.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,005 reviews
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Address: Maple Road | Tankersley, Barnsley, Sheffield S75 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M1. For shops and local amenities Sheffield city centre is 8 miles away; closer still Barnsley town centre is just 5 miles away. Conveniently situated 3 miles from Chapeltown train station. Our Sheffield / Barnsley Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Taybarns restaurant offering amazing choice at amazing value. M1(J35a), northbound exit only. Then A616 for 2 miles, or from (J36) take A61 to Sheffield. Hotel is 1 mile along, on next roundabout. Next to Taybarns, the Ultimate Eatery; opposite McDonalds and Shell filling station. Food served from 11:30am-21:30 Everyday (table bookings reccomended) Breakfast Mon-Fri 6:30-10:30am Sat-Sun 7-11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing