We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conveniently placed. welcoming” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“conveniently placed. welcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

we stayed at this premier inn because of its location - to break a journey going south. Parking was good and there was a facility for food (because of personal circumstances, we didn't eat here) Room was very clean and had all basic necessities for an overnight stay.
Unfortunately the bed was too hard for me but - true to their promise, Premier Inn offered me a refund. (I had always been very comfortable in other premier inns)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    119
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
135
129
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

great position in the city center for the trams
10mins to motor-point and they run every 10 mins as well
the hotel was great warm and friendly staff and clean and tidy
the hotel is opposite they indoor market and it has all sorts for sale great indoor market

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Trip to Sheffield and needed somewhere to stay so went for the safe option and tried Premier Inn.

Both I and my two boys went for a football match and to see family. We stayed at this Premier Inn because of location and price. Booked the room for three nights and the rate of £29 per night.

The room was simply great. It was spotless, up to date and comfortable. I don’t know how the manage it but the beds are so comfy and after spending a night on them you wake up refreshed and ready to go. The room temperature is perfect. The décor is tasteful and cosy.

There are the usual conveniences like tea and coffee making facilities and a hair drier. This room had the addition of a large flat screen TV with access to all local free view channels.

The staff seemed very friendly but luckily I did not have much call to need them. One was quite attractive with a cheeky little smile that was only too pleased to great you.

The only criticism I can muster is the fan in the bathroom. It sounds like marital aid doing overtime and gets a bit annoying. I suspect that Premier Inn design this fan to make a noise to encourage you to switch it off when not in use and thus encourage us all to be a little green.

I had breakfast in the adjacent Taybarn Restaurant. The cost is £8.25 for an ‘all you can eat buffet’ with up to two children eating free. The food was really good, hot and an excellent wide selection.

This restaurant is open to the general public and, (also during the evening), was frequented by large, rotund ladies with tattoos and boisterous children determined to exploit the ‘all you can eat.’ The determination on those people’s faces when they get up for their third and fourth plateful was a magnificent site that reminded me of those old grainy TV images of when a Steam Driver endlessly shovels coal in to his steam engine.

I’ll certainly use this place again.

Room Tip: Turn the bathroom light off when not in use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pastini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed overnight at weekend.

I know it's a chain but we just just wanted a bed for the night. Reception were really good with my 83 y.o. mother. ensuring she had a gound floor room, close to the entrance.

we slept well, despite our room being close to a busy road, the Liverpool to Skegness highway. There is such a thing honestly.

The room was large and clean with a splendid shower.

We did not stay for breakfst but Premier full english always provides an excellent start to the day

The 3 domestic staff we saw in the morning all enquired if we slept well and stopped for a chat. Nice Barnsley welcome

Generally prefer boutique type hotels but this sets the standards for economy chains.

Room Tip: although there are rooms near the main rod, we were not disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianbingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed in a few premier Inns, this is probably not the best but it was ok. Room is standard, quite big, tea and coffee, only 2 tea bags like normal so had to go get more. We were at the end of the hotel so close to a main road. Not an issue as we stayed Friday night so not much traffic, still enough to wake me up a couple of times though.
Taybarns, next door. We ate there in the late afternoon and i agree with a previous reviewer, very noisy, lots of kids, lots of additional background noise that we also noticed at breakfast when it was nearly empty. I think the afternoon was due to £5.99 all you can eat menu. Lots of families getting a cheap eat out.
Staff were excellent, as normal in Premier Inns, very friendly, very helpful and all happy to chat for a while too. Hotel was clean and looks well kept so no problems there. All in all we will go there again with no hesitation, mainly due to it being close to where we want to go.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the far end that back onto the A61 (i think its that road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAVANT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We staid at this Premier Inn 25.2.13. Althought I have used Premier on many occasions, it was the first time for my daughter, she was really pleasantly surprised at the space and cleanliness of our twin en-suite room. One double bed and a single. A lovely big tv, and tea, coffee etc. also very clean crisp white bedding, and enough towels for 2 people. Not lot more to say about the hotel room except to say a very good deal at £25 for the night. The Taybarns attached for breakfast and evening meal was excellent. Evening buffet all you can eat for £8.95 and such a range of hot foods also salads and puddings. Unlimited cold drinks or coffee. Breakfast next morning equally as good served from 6.30 until 10 am . Would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NORMA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

room was very clean , only thing wrong with the hotel is that the place at the side for food , is very busy and loads of children in there ,Staff was outstanding ( ie Karen on the door could not do enough for us )

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomada2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#36 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
8.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Address: Maple Road | Tankersley, Barnsley, Sheffield S75 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M1. For shops and local amenities Sheffield city centre is 8 miles away; closer still Barnsley town centre is just 5 miles away. Conveniently situated 3 miles from Chapeltown train station. Our Sheffield / Barnsley Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Taybarns restaurant offering amazing choice at amazing value. M1(J35a), northbound exit only. Then A616 for 2 miles, or from (J36) take A61 to Sheffield. Hotel is 1 mile along, on next roundabout. Next to Taybarns, the Ultimate Eatery; opposite McDonalds and Shell filling station. Food served from 11:30am-21:30 Everyday (table bookings reccomended) Breakfast Mon-Fri 6:30-10:30am Sat-Sun 7-11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing