We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slept like a Baby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slept like a Baby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Visiting relatives in the area,Premier Inn gives us a base not too far away at a Good price with a Great Nights sleep virtually Guarantee. We have stayed here before and will do so again if the price is right.The Taybarns Restaurant attached is a real bonus for us as we have a long drive ahead of us,and usually make real Pigs of ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackburnboy501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    119
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
135
129
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great modern hotel with usual Premier Inn comforts.
The massive wall mounted TV is superb.
Only negative was the noise from the room above, this wasn't out of the ordinary noise just the occupants moving around causing a lot of creaking floorboards/joists, not expected in a fairly new hotel. Spoilt my good nights sleep.
The Taybarns connected, although very busy , provided superb food and very helpful staff...well recommended

Room Tip: Get an upper floor room...everytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on new years eve for a little get away, relaxed, with friendly staff clean rooms clean bathroom and nice big flat screen TV and freeview great stay.

Stopped here a few times and would stay again! After the last time we stopped in a travelodge we vowed to only use premier inn as a chain hotel as they are great value for money and can always count on consistency.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Hitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Again I had a very pleasant stay This time I wan't disturbed by noisy guests Everything this time was very good although the Wifi could be much better For a quieter room ask for one in the extension. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. If booking a twin room be aware that this will be a double bed and a single bed which is a sofa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have used Premier Inn Hotels a number of times and am very pleased with the standard of service and the cleanliness.
However I am not pleased with the fact that only one easy chair is provided when two people are sharing a double room and a coffee table would be nice, I have mentioned this to the receptionist and when filling in the Premier Inn survey with no improvement.
Anyway that gripe over, the food provided at the Sheffield/Barrnsley Hotel is provided by Taybarns and although the decor may not be to everyones taste, the self service with plenty of choice and all you can eat is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Booked a twin room for myself and sister. Were given a family style room with double bed and sofa made up as a bed, pushed against outside wall, miles away from nearest bedside light. On complaining we were advised this room had two beds and was therefore a twin. Had to sleep on sofa and had rotten night. Request for refund refused despite Good Night Guarantee. Needless to say, we won't be returning!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night visiting family in july. No hestitation in staying there again very clean and spacious room's. The staff were very helpful courteous and friendly could not fault the place.And the food in the taybans nextdoor was brilliant all you could eat for breakfast.Looking forwoard to are next stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeybalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#37 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
8.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Address: Maple Road | Tankersley, Barnsley, Sheffield S75 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M1. For shops and local amenities Sheffield city centre is 8 miles away; closer still Barnsley town centre is just 5 miles away. Conveniently situated 3 miles from Chapeltown train station. Our Sheffield / Barnsley Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Taybarns restaurant offering amazing choice at amazing value. M1(J35a), northbound exit only. Then A616 for 2 miles, or from (J36) take A61 to Sheffield. Hotel is 1 mile along, on next roundabout. Next to Taybarns, the Ultimate Eatery; opposite McDonalds and Shell filling station. Food served from 11:30am-21:30 Everyday (table bookings reccomended) Breakfast Mon-Fri 6:30-10:30am Sat-Sun 7-11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing