We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield, uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“immaculate!”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

booked 3 rooms for 6 women for a sedate hen night. easy to book online, recieved plenty of email confirmations in run up to stay. room was absolutely immaculate.
rooms were spotless, bathroom so clean it was cleaner than mine!
bedding very fresh. rooms were very clean, spotless.
receptioin staff polite, very friendly and helpful.
housekeeping staff very friendly and polite.
generous tea and coffee (more than travelodge!
the £7.99 breakfast was really good - lots of choice and all very hot. restaurant staff very cheerful and helpful - accomodated a friend who only wanted a hot drink whilst we had the full breakfast.
on checkout the reception staff were friendly and chatty, and wished us a happy weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    129
    42
    13
    7
See reviews for
141
143
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Just wanted to say that the staff in your Hotel were really helpful and cheerful and went out of the way to help us.Just came back from a weekend at your Hotel and as per usual it was spotless and could not fault it. My family and I spend alot of time in your Hotels across the country throughout the Year. There are value for money!!!! We have only accounted a couple of issues over the years we have stayed however this has not stopped us coming back time after time. Just booked 5 days stay for July so looking forward to that. Thanks Premier Inns

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southcliff2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

No hestitation in staying here again, very clean and spacious bedroom and bathroom, Quiet, good food in 'all you can eat' Taybarns next door - and friendly staff in both
Sadly not much to do within 10 miles, but very good further afield (or stopover between sightseeing)
Stayed Premier 2 yrs ago near St Pancras that was very good too

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetshireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Really nice hotel with friendly staff and a high level of cleanliness. Better than other budget equivalents

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catlynda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed for 1 night. It is very convenient for the M1 motorway.
Our room was exactly as we expected, clean & a reasonable size.
The reception staff were very helpful & friendly.
If we stayed again we would ask for a room at the back overlooking the car park. We were at the front & the traffic noise was quite bad at times.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancashirefemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. My son who lives in the S6 area of Sheffield was getting married at the very nearby Tankersly Manor. We stayed at the Premier Inn for three nights and at the £29 per night promotional rate.

The hotel is almost adjacent to Junction 36 of the M1 and whilst Sheffield town centre is around 10 miles away if you are visiting Meadowhall this avoids all contact with the hellish city centre driving conditions. Be warned if you haven't experienced this hell then you will find it extremely difficult not to fall foul of bus/taxi only gates. Time zone, Tram zone restrictions etc etc etc. The Premier Inn at Tankersly avoids all of this.

Truly, there is really nothing to offer in the way of criticism. The staff were genuinely helpful and really interested in making sure that we were comfortable. From our earlier stay, experience suggested, we ask for a back room overlooking the hotel car park, this is definitely the solution for an undisturbed night's sleep. I have stayed in many hotels both in my working life and for leisure and provided this level of accommodation meets your needs then I don't believe this hotel can be beaten.

The Taybarn restaurant adjacent would not suit all tastes but it is appropriate to the level of stay that you have bought into. The drinks are some of the cheapest I have experienced but maybe that's because we are normally stuck with south east prices. The food selection is buffet style and eat as much as you like. it is clear that kids love this set up. We have tried it but prefer the menu from a particular village local nearby.

If attending a function at the nearby manor this is a stones throw away (300m approx) and what it lacks in ambience it more than makes up for with its more approachable staff and certainly more approachable prices.


Book it you won't regret it and no I'm not from the managers family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodser70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed one night, the staff very friendly, plenty of parking and a massive Taybarns next door, nice if you want to eat yourself stupid as it's all you can eat for 6 quid. Breakfast is ok though.
Very handy for popping down the motorway to Meadowhall.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
1.6 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
236 reviews
2.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,003 reviews
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Address: Maple Road | Tankersley, Barnsley, Sheffield S75 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M1. For shops and local amenities Sheffield city centre is 8 miles away; closer still Barnsley town centre is just 5 miles away. Conveniently situated 3 miles from Chapeltown train station. Our Sheffield / Barnsley Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Taybarns restaurant offering amazing choice at amazing value. M1(J35a), northbound exit only. Then A616 for 2 miles, or from (J36) take A61 to Sheffield. Hotel is 1 mile along, on next roundabout. Next to Taybarns, the Ultimate Eatery; opposite McDonalds and Shell filling station. Food served from 11:30am-21:30 Everyday (table bookings reccomended) Breakfast Mon-Fri 6:30-10:30am Sat-Sun 7-11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing