We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Really nice hotel with friendly staff and a high level of cleanliness. Better than other budget equivalents

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catlynda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 438 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed for 1 night. It is very convenient for the M1 motorway.
Our room was exactly as we expected, clean & a reasonable size.
The reception staff were very helpful & friendly.
If we stayed again we would ask for a room at the back overlooking the car park. We were at the front & the traffic noise was quite bad at times.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashirefemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. My son who lives in the S6 area of Sheffield was getting married at the very nearby Tankersly Manor. We stayed at the Premier Inn for three nights and at the £29 per night promotional rate.

The hotel is almost adjacent to Junction 36 of the M1 and whilst Sheffield town centre is around 10 miles away if you are visiting Meadowhall this avoids all contact with the hellish city centre driving conditions. Be warned if you haven't experienced this hell then you will find it extremely difficult not to fall foul of bus/taxi only gates. Time zone, Tram zone restrictions etc etc etc. The Premier Inn at Tankersly avoids all of this.

Truly, there is really nothing to offer in the way of criticism. The staff were genuinely helpful and really interested in making sure that we were comfortable. From our earlier stay, experience suggested, we ask for a back room overlooking the hotel car park, this is definitely the solution for an undisturbed night's sleep. I have stayed in many hotels both in my working life and for leisure and provided this level of accommodation meets your needs then I don't believe this hotel can be beaten.

The Taybarn restaurant adjacent would not suit all tastes but it is appropriate to the level of stay that you have bought into. The drinks are some of the cheapest I have experienced but maybe that's because we are normally stuck with south east prices. The food selection is buffet style and eat as much as you like. it is clear that kids love this set up. We have tried it but prefer the menu from a particular village local nearby.

If attending a function at the nearby manor this is a stones throw away (300m approx) and what it lacks in ambience it more than makes up for with its more approachable staff and certainly more approachable prices.


Book it you won't regret it and no I'm not from the managers family.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodser70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed one night, the staff very friendly, plenty of parking and a massive Taybarns next door, nice if you want to eat yourself stupid as it's all you can eat for 6 quid. Breakfast is ok though.
Very handy for popping down the motorway to Meadowhall.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Stayed after a concert in Sheffield. Standard Premier Inn but great staff and a really good sleep.
We booked 3 weeks before but had to pay £59 for the room, perhaps not a bad price in itself, but seeing all those Lenny Henry posters for £29 makes me feel ripped off. Not a nice feeling.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank towerridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2010

Thanks for your review we are pleased that your stay with us was comfortable and you received the high level of service we endeavour to give all our guests. Our Premier Offers are subject to availability and we do have rooms from £29 our Premier Inn website show the full Terms and Conditions for these bookings. Thanks for your review we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

I made this booking online several weeks prior to our stay. I was amazed to receive both a confirming letter and telephone call within a week of our actual stay. Also, on the morning of our stay I got a text message welcoming us and stating directions would be sent to either mobile or sat nav if required. All staff we encountered were so friendly and helpful and gave the impression there was nothing they would rather be doing than working there. Take into consideration that this was Christmas Day when most people would no doubt love to be somewhere else. This attitude is highly unusual in this day and age and therefore immediately noticeable. This was our very first stay at a Premier Inn and it definitely won't be the last. We were totally impressed with all of the above and the room itself was spotlessly clean, very spacious and with all facilities you could possibly want including lovely bathroom with a great shower, TV, kettle with Twinings tea and Kenco coffee (extra supplies on all corridors), hair dryer, bedside lights etc. All this for £29.00! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SixtySomethingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

It is great to hear of your positive experience with Premier Inn. It is so good to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable and that the service provided met your expectations.. At Premier Inn we strive for excellence and are keen to learn from our guests reviews how we can achieve and maintain this. Your feedback regarding our team members is great to hear and your comments will be followed up by our Management Team at our hotel. Thank you again for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed 4 nights on a Premier Inn promotion deal and paid £29 per night for a double room. Breakfast was £5.25 each continental and £7.50 for full English. Our experience of this hotel and indeed all the Premier Inn brand hotels is that rooms are clean with all standard facilities of 3 star hotel but no frills. Staff are well trained and friendly.

If you want breakfast its served in the adjacent restaurant - they are standard meals of average quality served in clean modern surroundings. We had one evening meal in this Restauant - its the Taybarns brand - if you have not had a meal in this brand - its basically eat as much as you like for a standard price. We found the experience rather hectic and more Quantity rather than quality. Children seem to love it but it seems to always be busy and I liken it to dining in a railway station.

On our second night we walked approx 500 yards up a very very busy road (be careful if you try this option) to have a bar meal at Tankersley Manor Hotel. The meal was ok but I felt a little ripped off over the cost of a glass of wine.

The Hotel is very convenient for the M1 but your going to have to drive to any tourist sites.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northumberlandscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2009

Thanks for your review. At Premier Inn we endeavour to provide the a good value, quality stay in all our hotels. It is good to hear that you made booking using our £29 offer ensuring you stay was excellent value for money. We are pleased to hear that our hotel, service and breakfast facilities were to your satisfaction. Once again thank you for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
1.6 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
263 reviews
2.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
578 reviews
14.8 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#36 of 53 in Sheffield
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel

Address: Maple Road | Tankersley, Barnsley, Sheffield S75 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: $60 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M1. For shops and local amenities Sheffield city centre is 8 miles away; closer still Barnsley town centre is just 5 miles away. Conveniently situated 3 miles from Chapeltown train station. Our Sheffield / Barnsley Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Taybarns restaurant offering amazing choice at amazing value. M1(J35a), northbound exit only. Then A616 for 2 miles, or from (J36) take A61 to Sheffield. Hotel is 1 mile along, on next roundabout. Next to Taybarns, the Ultimate Eatery; opposite McDonalds and Shell filling station. Food served from 11:30am-21:30 Everyday (table bookings reccomended) Breakfast Mon-Fri 6:30-10:30am Sat-Sun 7-11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing