We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the worst and not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Harley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harley Hotel
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the worst and not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Ive stayed in many youth hostels and YMCA buildings in my time and have experienced my ch worse than The Harley. For 3 people sharing £13 per night with breakfast is an absolute bargain. It's ideally located right in the middle of Sheffield and near the Hallamshire hospital. I recommend it of you're looking for a place to crash after a night out.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    36
    16
    64
See reviews for
12
30
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

There are a lot of negative reviews on here, but I think most of them are caused by a mismatch between expectations, and the simple reality of what the Harley is in its DNA. It's a bar and music venue first, and a cheap simple hotel second.

Therefore I see few reasons to complain. I wanted: a cheap single room, for one night, in a central location, and that was EXACTLY what I got. I paid £20 mid-week for a perfectly serviceable single, with en suite, and inc. breakfast. How could anyone complain about that?? I got a comfy bed with clean sheets, a decent flat-screen TV, and a clean(ish) bathroom.

Yes, it's all a bit rough round the edges. True, it's far from 5*. Yes, the bar downstairs can get lively. True, the place could be a bit cleaner in places. But hey, it did the job perfectly adequately, it was what I wanted, and for £20 a night with a full-English thrown in, I ain't complaining. In fact I'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Jeez, I wish we had read these reviews before booking. I have never seen such a dirty, stinking hovel as the Harley Hotel. Words cannot begin to describe the grime and filth of this reeking dosshouse. The 'Penthouse' was a mish mash of tatty, broken furniture, filthy carpets, stained walls and dirty bedding. Stayed with family for my niece's graduation and can honestly say we'd have been better off with staying with our homeless bretheren in the shop doorways of Sheffield. It was so bad we couldn't use the shower or wash basin and slept in our clothes for fear of the nasty bed bugs! Even if you're on a tight budget you'd be far better off in a travel lodge or premier inn - that is if you are happy to accept the basics such as a clean bed, clean room and clean bathroom! Be warned fellow travellers, you stay here at the risk of leaving with far more than you arrived with.

Room Tip: Commit suicide before contemplating booking this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacqui322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have Never in all my Life stayed anywhere So Bloody Dirty & Disgusting!
Stayed here November for My daughters Graduation! wot a bump to earth at the end of a Brilliant Night!
We had to wash our hands after using the hand rail going upstairs, Dirty bedding, Bloody filthy Glasses, cups n plates. Bathroom disgusing! Carpets Well i don't think they have EVER seen a Hoover
NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

Room Tip: For Health Reasons alone DO NOT STAY HERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

The sheets were clean. Carpet in the room was dirty. Furnishings need replacing, the sofa was torn and the chair at the dressing table was so dirty. The showerhead and loo were the worst. When I went to have a shower I found the water was only warm, the shower cubicle had not been cleaned EVER, and the showerhead had a thick layer of green-black algae!!! There was rubbish from previous occupants. There was a tv in the room but no remote. Lots of tea and coffee but no kettle. The music from the bar downstairs was loud but tolerable, though the bouncer/door man was not very friendly.

DO NOT BOOK! I WILL DEFINITELY NOT BE GOING BACK THERE!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v_ukza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

If you read the description that the owners give of this establishment, you will have no preparation for the experience that awaits you if you attempt to spend the night here. On checking in you will note that the rooms seem well soundproofed (if a bit dirty) and this may lead you to believe that, despite being over a pub, you will be able to get a reasonable night's sleep here. Then the music starts. This is not normal ambient pub music but rather incessant, cacophonous bass music cranked up to a volume that no amount of soundproofing and earplugs will give you relief from it. You feel the vibrations from the speakers in every part of the building, and unless you live next to an space shuttle launch pad or a nuclear testing facility, it will be impossible to get any sleep without the kind of sleeping pills that would have made Michael Jackson wary. The idea that earplugs will be of any use when the entire room is shaking from the bass playing beneath it is downright dishonest, as is the way the rooms are advertised and the fact that the staff fail to give you any idea about the real nature of the noise you will have to try and endure. The best that can be said is that when, having struggled for three hours to get to sleep, you finally decide that this situation is ridiculous and you pack your bags and ask for a refund, they will give it to you without argument. We went to the Etap by Sheffield Arena, which cost less, was clean, tidy and blissfully, transcendently quiet. I would recommend sleeping under a railway bridge while tramps repeatedly defecate on your head before I would recommend staying at this fraud of a hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any of the rooms. Go anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

The carpets are filthy as is the bathroom. Music pounding until 4am on a Thursday morning, and to cap it off at 1.30 am I woke to an infestation of bed bugs on my pillow feeding of my blood. This dump needs closing down now!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bees1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harley Hotel

Property: Harley Hotel
Address: 334 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harley is a small, friendly hotel next to the University and Hospitals. It is located next to the University of Sheffield tram stop and is 5 minutes walk from Sheffield City Centre. All rooms are simple yet comfortable and well appointed, with en suite, TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel bar has a late license. All room rates include breakfast. 'Please be aware that this hotel is situated above a live music and late night venue which is open until 4am most nights. Noise from the bar can be heard in the hotel rooms, so we are not suitable for light sleepers or early risers.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Harley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harley Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing