We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We took advantage of a Sunday night spa stay. The hotel is very nice, it is quality without being intimidating. The room was pleasant and spacious with a good sized bathroom. One very minor concern ref the room was the lack of nets to prevent people seeing in when the curtains are open.
The food served for dinner was very rich but very enjoyable. The staff who served us were very pleasant and made us feel very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice, I liked that I could get items cooked how I liked them.
The spa was nice. The pool was very nice, the blue over lighting made it very relaxing. We both enjoyed the rooms. Only thing missing was a whirlpool. The changing rooms did leave some thing to be desired, they looked like they had a leaking roof. Overall an excellent value hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and have noted all your comments. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    722
    251
    110
    60
See reviews for
371
849
132
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Super friendly and efficient staff. Lovely room with fantastic views and a great central location. The spa is excellent too with two types of steam room, sauna and an ice room. We now wish we'd opted for breakfast as well.

Room Tip: We asked for a corner room, which gives you amazing views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jango5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and will ensure the team are aware of it. Additionally I do hope we can welcome you back and then you will be able to enjoy the fantastic breakfasts we serve! Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Over the past few years, I have stayed in hotels all over England and Wales. Without question, this was far and away the best (and I have stayed in some great hotels).

There was a small problem when we arrived as details of our booking had not been received from the agent. It was quickly sorted by Sandeep who was so courteous, professional and respectful, that it felt as though the problem never existed and we were quickly checked in.

Our room was large, airy and spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the bathroom huge, with a great walk-in shower, as well as a bath. Plenty of white, fluffy towels and quality toiletries completed the picture. We ate dinner in the dining room each night - good food, served by friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent. I would recommend the continental option where the selection is amazing....everything from cold meats to pastries. The biggest choice I have ever seen in any hotel.

I whole heartedly agree with another reviewer who said that this hotel should be rated number one hotel in Sheffield - by miles. In fact, I will be looking for the Mercure brand when travelling in future.

A great big 'thank you' to every member of the lovely staff. My grandson and I were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our only regret is that we didn't find this hotel sooner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your comments and please be assured the team will be too. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Booked a spa day for my Mum's birthday here. It was absolutely fantastic. Started with a swim in the pool and a bit of relaxing in the thermal suite. Then we had a reserved booth for lunch in the champagne bar. Sandwiches and wraps were included in the deal, but for just £2 you could upgrade to main meals. We both had the Gourmet steak burger with a generous glass of Merlot (included in the spaseekers package). It was well worth the extra couple of quid.

We then had a back, neck and shoulder massage, which nearly sent me off to sleep, and a manicure in our choice of colour. (You can also choose pediucures, facials, scalp and leg massages in the deal). The staff were great and after I accidentally chipped a nail they were more than happy to fix it for me. We finished the day with a lounge in the gorgeous relaxation room and a cup of two of the complementary coffee.

It was brilliant. Although it was a bit of a shame that there was no Jacuzzi, the facilities, staff and price more than made up for it. I am already booking another spa day on Christmas eve with my partner and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Spa Naturel at Mercure St Paul's. I was delighted to read your enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back on Christmas Eve. Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

A modern and well appointed hotel, very conveniently located in the heart of Sheffield. From the moment I checked in it was clear that the front of house team were very keen to please. The service was friendly if just a little subservient for my taste but it was difficult to fault the attitude. The public areas, Bar and Restaurant are stylish and comfortable and the service there is equally impressive.

My partner and I had chosen a Junior Suite which was spacious and very typical of a chain of this type but with a couple of nice touches including an Espresso machine. Our only complaint was that the room was quite hot and with the air conditioning system running, the noise was a little intrusive.

The buffet breakfast was of reasonably good quality with an excellent selection of traditional English and Continental dishes. A number of additional dishes ( Kippers , Eggs Benedict) were also available a la carte.

Checkout and the return of my car which had been valet parked ( £23 per night) was smooth, although there was a slight delay in locating some produce that I had asked to store in a refrigerator. It was possible to extend the normal checkout until 1300 free of charge but each additional hour thereafter is £20. A little pricey but this was a minor hassle in what was all in all a very good stay. I will certainly return the next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Junior suites are in the corner and on the second floor 233 overlooks the peace gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was thrilled with your feedback and will ensure the team are aware of it. I am also a great fan of the junior suites and am pleased you enjoyed yours. I sincerely hope we will be welcoming you back in the future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel was my life for five years. I spent at least three if not four nights a week here.
I ate breakfast, used the gym but never ate in the evening.
The bar staff were excellent as were the door men.
This hotel is the centre of all that is Sheffield.
Well worth a visit.
Make sure you don't visit when the snooker is on because you will not get a room!

Room Tip: Ask for a Town Hall view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antelope0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and will ensure the team are aware of it. Additionally I would like to thank you for choosing Mercure St Paul's Sheffield as you hotel of choice during the past five years and sincerely hope we can keep welcoming you back in the future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed with friends over the weekend
the service was outstanding
Stayed here last yr when friends came over, and it's actually even better than before
would recommend a stay , its well worth the price, and well located in Sheffield

Andy

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul;s Sheffield.I was delighted to read your comments and very pleased to read you thought the service was even better than last year! I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing