We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I always enjoy staying at this property. It is located adjacent to the winter gardens and a 5 minute walk from the train station. We were assigned two rooms located beside each other on the second floor. My television was not working but I informed reception and the maintenance team fixed the problem very quickly. However, we also reported that the toilet in the other room was not flushing properly. This was reported to reception on the Friday afternoon but nobody ever came to fix it by the time we checked out on the Sunday. Breakfast is excellent although particularly busy on the Sunday morning and we were given a table in the lounge just outside the main breakfast area. Check in was smooth and pleasant, however, check out with same receptionist was less pleasant as eye contact was barely made and I wasn't asked if we had enjoyed our stay or if everything was ok. Not even a goodbye! I will put that down to inexperience as i think the member of staff was a trainee

Would definitely return here, the best of any hotel I have stayed at in Sheffield

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a privilege room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViennaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and am sorry that the departure you received wasn't to our normal high standards. I do appreciate your understanding of the matter. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    699
    246
    107
    59
See reviews for
358
821
129
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Well where to start, a group of us venture to Sheffield every year for the snooker, I think this is our sixth year, and every visit seems to get better and better,

We set up base at the Mercure, what a fantastic Hotel, we all love it here, it feels like home, the staff are very friendly and welcoming, as soon as you walk through the door, we are greeted with a very warm welcome, and swiftly move to the bar, where again we are met with smiles and friendly staff, nothing is to much trouble, and being a group of well behaved lads, are partial to the odd late night, so its always a comfort to know that even when we have been out a bit late, there is always a friendly face back at the Hotel to give us a night cap.

The breakfast is well worth getting up for, and there is a fantastic variety to choose from, one of the best full English breakfasts of the year without a doubt, sets us up for a busy day, hopping around the fantastic selection of bars, pubs, restaurants, clubs, and shops, easy on the shops.

We quite often take advantage of the fantastic spa and gym facilities, these are second to none for a hotel, and all included in the cost of our Stay, we are already looking forward to out next trip next year, and I am seriously considering the Mercure as one of my Stag destinations later this year, hopefully the hotel will do us a group saver.

If you find your self on a trip to Sheffield and seek some advise on where to stay, take it from a very satisfied bunch of out going, fun loving, well behaved Lads, you wont get better than here, worth every penny, and so much to do on your door step, if you go during the Snooker you are odds on to bump into a legend or two, this year I was lucky enough to get a snooker selfie with the great Stephen Hendry.

AWSOME HOTEL
AWSOME WEEKEND
12 OUT OF 10

Room Tip: You wont be disappointed with any of your room selections
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigs1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your comments and will ensure the team are made aware of it. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed in mercure Sheffiled for two nights. The hotel is close to railway station and you can walk to the hotel from railway station in 5-6 minutes but you need to know the way across Sheffield Hallum university campus. Remember, it's climbing up the slope. If you are carrying luggage it could be difficult. The entrance of the hotel is not easy to locate due to typical planning they have. The hotel seemed popular amongst conferences and seminars and we found the lobby and the restaurant usually crowded with corporate guys. The restaurant has a glass roof that allows direct Sun rays. Though, it should be pleasant on a chilly day, it is not comfortable on the days with higher temp. We had to search for table located in some shade. The glass roof of the restaurant extends to the roof of a glass house next to it. These roofs blocked the view from the room. If I remember correctly we stayed in an odd number room that overlooks these glass roofs. It is better of the other side rooms are chosen. The rooms have inter connecting doors that makes noise from next room penetrate to your room. We could here snoring of the the guy staying in next room whole night.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms on restaurant side as the roof of restaurant blockers the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul’s Hotel and Spa. I have noted your comments and feedback and hope we can welcome you back in the future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

For six years in a row we have travelled from Kent for the first weekend of the snooker. The facilities are superb and the staff and service is excellent. Food was amazing . The rooms are extremely comfortable and we have always had amazing weekends everytime we go . The spa facilities are very welcome after a long trip up. I highly reccomend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in sheffield. Thanks to all staff who made the trip an excellent one

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in over the past six years have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul’s Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and will ensure the team are aware of your kind words. I hope to welcome you back either in the near future or next year for the next Snooker World Championships.
Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

every thing fabulous .great welcome. room spotless loads of space. given room upgrade with free bar. spa brilliant. very relaxing great treatments enjoyed facial thanks to manager. dinner food excellent. great service waitress really good .thanks to restaurant manager allowing birthday girl to choose from different menu made it special for her. bar staff so friendly had a good night felt like friends. breakfast amazing best buffet.so much choice. very tasty and fresh well done chef. everyone was superb couldn't do enough. service with a smile. added bonus winter gardens.lite up at night. needed to make 40th special due to sad year. thanks to you all it was. cant recommend st pauls enough. you must stay . best 4 star hotel.



.

Room Tip: rooms over looking winter gardens.crucible square lite up at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure in Sheffield and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Me and the other lads from Kent spent the opening weekend of the snooker at the hotel as we do every year and it surprises me that the levels of service remain impeccable. Great hotel with great facilities and an amazing breakfast which is why we will be back again next year for our 6th annual trip to Sheffield and thanks again to all the staff at the hotel who made our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and I will ensure the team are aware of it. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Went to Sheffield for a couple of days to watch the start of the snooker world championships and could not of stayed in a better hotel for location and comfort. First of all you are met by very welcoming and friendly staff at the reception who help you check in. Then when I got to the room I was very pleased they are a nice size and very clean along with very comfortable beds. In the morning you get a very nice breakfast with plenty of choice whether you would like cooked or just fruit,pastries etc.
But for me and above all the best thing this hotel has to offer is its excellent location for any one wishing to mix a stay in Sheffield with the snooker. It is only a couple of minutes walk to the crucible and the TV filming area is just outside the back doors. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and I will ensure the team are aware of it. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing