We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Hotel with car parking challenges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This city centre hotel has a location overlooking the splendid town hall and Peace Gardens which cannot be bettered. However, this can also be a negative if you are bringing a car.On a recent visit to the city I decided on staying at the hotel because of its central location which meant that I could walk to all of my meetings. Arriving by car I was given the option of valet parking-expensive for this type of hotel and city or leaving it in a near by car park and walking back.Neither were ideal but the valet won simply because of the convenience factor but took a little of the shine away from the rate I paid for the room.Having negotiated the communication system/barrier to actually get the car to the outside of the hotel everything else about the stay was stress free.Check in was efficient accommodating and courteous. My room was of a superior standard expected from a hotel of this quality with some nice touches such as the ability to plug your MP3 player into the TV for a more individualistic choice of music,a stand in shower and a well presented and very comfortable bed.
In the evening the downstairs lobby and champagne bar become the sort of area that you can relax and chill in though the selection of wines could have been wider.
Overall the staff were ambassadors for the hotel showing a real desire to make your stay as positive as possible.They had been trained professionally in customer care and it showed!
As a LeClub member I have stayed in a number of Mercure hotels in Europe and whilst pleasant they are not exactly at the standard of this hotel perhaps because it has been transferred from the original MacDonald Hotel brand.Whatever the reason marketing need to find a way to differentiate this hotel from others in this brand as it is definitely on a different level.

Room Tip: Provided the rates are good ask for an upgrade to a privilege room overlooking the Peace Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLJAMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was thrilled to read your feedback and am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. I will ensure the team are made aware of the feedback. Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,461 - 1,467 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Great single night stay. Good location with a short (uphill) walk from station. Next to Winter Gardens and Peace Gardens. Loads of restaurants nearby. Had a corner room with three windows - excellent view and decent room - temperature fine, facilities ok and excellent bathroom (like the separate shower / bath). Only complaint was the lack of warmth in the reception staff - no smile, no greeting - felt like I'd just been processed rather than welcomed !

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank MarkE101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was pleased to read most of your feedback and surprised at your comments regarding the reception staff. I will show them your feedback to allow me to understand why you weren’t given our normal warm welcome. Please accept my apologies for the lack of welcome Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Leeds, United Kingdom
308
Reviewed March 24, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

City centre Sheffield........advantages are that you are close to the plethora of restuarants that now exist in the Centre.
The hotel has good sized beds but an air-con system that is in need of an overhaul.......and as windows cannot be opened this should be done before the summer comes along.
Breakfast was OK, but when you add the price of parking onto an already pricey room it is better and significantly cheaper to stay at The Copthorne on Bramall Lane and get a taxi into the centre for dinner!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. I did note your comments. Many factors are taken into consideration when deciding the price of a hotel and I am confident in view of our overall facilities including the Spa we are competitively priced. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The room was nice, bed comfortable, but it has some urksome issues that need resolving before I would stay here again:
1. No facecloth/flannel in the bathroom - wet shaving? Wet the corner of a towel!
2. No toilet brush - yuk
3. No power sockets by the bed - cant plug my phone in where it is within easy reach, have to get up to turn off the alarm, hence no snooze
4. Very poor shower - temperature fluctuates wildly, very little pressure - not impressed, as I usually look forward to using hotel showers and almost all hotels I have stayed in so far have met expectations on this one.
5. Poor lighting in the room - trying to work in the evening on paperwork was nearly impossible. It is nice for a moody or romantic evening but not very practical or flexible.
6. No net curtains. I opened the curtains this morning in my underwear and got a shock when the full length window was completely exposed to all walking by outside. So some people might not like net curtains but you can always pull them back. Due to the lighting issue, you are forced to get dressed in near darkness because unless you are fully clothed you cant have any natural light.

Those are the negatives but there are a lot of positives. Read other reviews as I havent got time to name them all!

The above things are all fairly basic and easy to sort, and if they were so, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon_Funnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I have noted all your feedback and will ensure any appropriate action is taken.Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

After suffering an unexpected family bereavement we called the Spa within the hotel to see if we could rearrange a Spa day that my sister had bought for three members of the family, as we could not attend due to the circumstances.
We were put through to the Spa manger who in no uncertain terms said that we could not transfer our Spa day and that all money paid would be lost.
This to me is appalling customer service, it is not about money but care and compassion

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank 12fg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. Please can you contact me directly on 0114 278 2000 to allow me to investigate your comments in full. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed a Saturday night at St Paul's for a treat for my wife's birthday. We stayed in a corner suite on the wine and dine package which included a meal in the Yard restaurant with drinks and breakfast. The suite was more than a standard room (only about £25 more at the time) but well worth the extra money, with a lot more space (a separate corner sitting area, over looking the city).

The high point for the stay was the meal in the restaurant, which was excellent, from the very tasty food to the prompt and friendly service.

+/-

+ Friendly staff
+ Really nice room
+ Impressive restaurant
+ Great Location
+ Dark quiet rooms

- Over expensive bar prices
- not enough room lights

Would recommend the wine and dine package if booking in advance. We stayed in a junior suite for £194 including 5 course meal, 3 drinks each at meal (which they matched to the meat of the course) and breakfast, which I think was good value overall.

Room Tip: Corner suites are excellent if you want an extra area away from the bedroom to have a drink and rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read you enjoyed the wine and dine package and I agree - the suites are fabulous and well worth upgrading to. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,562 reviews
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $106 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing