We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for Theatres”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Overall the Hotel was very good. it would have been excellent but for a few things.
The room was too warm even with the air con at it's coldest and on max.
The first night we opted to dine in the hotel restaurant. the waiter took our orders and drink orders
he came back a few minutes later and told us the starters we ordered were not available as they had been busy over the Christmas period, by the way it was now the 3rd of January surely he should have told us what was not available when we ordered.
The room it's self was very good very spacious with a large comfortable bed 2 easy chairs a wardrobe a table writing desk a mini bar with waters and soft drinks which was not cold at all.
the bathroom good with a bath, separate shower and a range of toiletries, also we had bathrobes and slippers as we had a privilege room.
there were coffee sachets and tea etc
there was a nespresso coffee machine in the room but only 1 cup with it and 3 coffee pods ?
also the soft drinks required a bottle opener after searching the room I had to ring reception and tell them I gave in as I could not find a bottle opener and we had paid for the soft drinks package
the receptionist said we would have to go down and get one.
we had to ring reception the following day as the soft drinks had not been replenished.
the spa was spot on nice swimming pool too.
the staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I am always delighted to read that guests have enjoyed their stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,486 - 1,492 of 2,463 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

impression good.reception impressive
Receptionist tired to charge me again for two rooms even though paid in full.
Room very disappointing it was interconnecting £89 for each side as have no family rooms.nearly £400 for 2 nights for 2 adults and 3 children.room looked out to a wall so very poor view.bathroom was disabled shower room with dirty shower curtain and no bath.room tired nothing special.
Went to pool reason we booked hotel for family break.freezing cold had been for a few days.no one bothers to tell you so get all the children changed for swim .very upset children when find it's broken .went to reception fobbed off with many different reasons why it's cold depending on which staff member you talk to.
Offered a swim in next door hotel and different room .
Put us in executive

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank barhave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Four of us (two couples) stayed here for New Year's Eve. It was a package consisting of meal and overnight stay. The meal was really delicious; starters of salmon and pate were really good, but the main course of venison was just first class. The lamb was also good. Very nice puss, plus a wonderful plate of cheeses. The room was great, overlooking the Peace Gardens. However, there was a disgusting drain smell coming from the shower, which actually made it unusable. Room 403. You could smell it as soon as you walked into the room. Also, this room is too close to the lifts and you can hear it going up and down.
Breakfast was really good.
I have to say that the staff at this hotel are a pure delight. The check in, the restaurant staff, all lovely, polite and smiling. Congratulations and thank you to them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurrahholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your New Years Eve stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read your feedback and will ensure we rectify the issues you faced in your room. I look forward to welcoming you back inthe future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Excellent hotel in a city centre location near to the shops, bars and restaurants. Hotel staff friendly , rooms clean a relaxing nights stay. Have stayed at this hotel on many occasions would recommend it to friends and family.



  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was pleased to read your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went for a 3 day break between Christmas and New Year. Lovely hotel and lovely staff. Sadly, main feature for our stay was a disappointment - the pool was freezing. They had had a problem but it was hard to tell if they were trying to heat it properly. They did let us use a pool of sister hotel next door. I would go again though. Nice spa area. Well placed for City. Attentive staff.

Room Tip: Better views on Peace garden side. No point in upgrading to Privilege rooms, not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoFSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and am sorry that we were facing some issues with our pool. I am pleased that the team arranged access to another pool for you . I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 82JMH
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Mercure in Sheffield was a really pleasant experience. So close to the bustling city centre, which is a plus.

From checking in – the staff were very efficient and friendly. The room was beautiful, very spacious and nice view out of the sitting room window. The staff should be commended on the cleanliness of the room and hotel.

The staff at breakfast were helpful, finding us a table and bringing either tea or coffee very quickly. The choice was really good from cereal, fruit, to a fully cooked full English.

Must say a big ‘thank you’ to Phil the concierge for his helpfulness throughout our stay.

We would not hesitate to book into the Mercure next time we are in Sheffield. A most enjoyable experience.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tomm_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted with your feedback and sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $96 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing