We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated and expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overrated and expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lovely location in Central Sheffield next to Town Hall and Peace Gardens. We found a deal at a reasonable price for a 4 star hotel. But this excluded breakfast! Car parking was extra , valet parking is expensive but the alternative NCP car park is not a good start to a relaxing break! Also if you take your car out of the park you pay every time. The hotel offers a discount on the parking which helps a little.we were given a large room overlooking the gardens which was lovely .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anserrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. I have noted your comments and thank you once again for your feedback. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    689
    243
    107
    58
See reviews for
356
815
127
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Most of this hotel is superb. Great central location, excellent rooms, modern decor and good staff......but the breakfast service on the Sunday morning that we stayed was an utter & complete disaster.

I'm sure the food would have been fine - apart from there was very little at all!
Queues for the cooked breakfast went for 20 yards because there were only 1 or 2 breakfast items available. People waited mistakenly believing this would be remedied - but it wasn't . You might be lucky & be at the counter when the bacon is available, but this usually means no sausages, hash browns or eggs.
Comically tragic & in the end I gave it up as a bad job, as did many others

Seemed to be 1 guy appearing every 10 minutes with 1 breakfast item, but by this time all the other things had gone.

Plates & bowls were in very short supply as well - however, not a problem as there was no food to put on them!

Shame really as a good hotel was spoiled by an appalling breakfast experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's. I was pleased to read the majority of your feedback but obviously very upset to read your comments regarding breakfast. I can advise you that we have taken the appropriate steps to ensure this is not repeated. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

A great hotel in an excellent location, right in the heart of Sheffield. The staff are friendly and attentive. The pool, gym and spa facilities are all of a very high standard. The rooms are comfy and have a luxury feel to them. I thoroughly recommend a stay for business or leisure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aled J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and I sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Mercure St Paul's for 2 nights (4/5 October) and took in a play at the "Crucible", which is just opposite the hotel. We've been doing this for the past 4 years and as ever the staff and general ambience were faultless. Before we even got out of the car, Phillipe was there to whisk our cases to our room. Great guy, loves his job and it shows in his ever cheerful personality.
The room itself was great (403) - very spacious with fantastic views of the Peace Gardens. The Champagne Bar is one of the highlights of this hotel, serving a wide range of quality wines and a selection of extremely appetising snacks. The food we ordered was a little late in arriving, but Agnoushka (a super new addition to the staff) brought us two glasses of Prosecco by way of apology.
Overall I can't fault this hotel. The amenities and location are first rate and the staff are exemplary. They become your friends over the weekend rather than employees of the hotel. We'd never stay anywhere else when in Sheffield.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evangelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's. I was delighted to read your feedback and I am sure the team will be thrilled to read your feedback. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here many times for business. This is a very good city centre hotel. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern. The beds are comfortable. The staff are excellent, very accommodating. The gym is superb for a hotel and includes many cardio machines, a free weights area and even an open area with a punch bag, kettlebells, yoga mats etc. I've stayed in a number of Mercures across UK and mainland Europe, and this is definitely the best of the lot. Perfect for business. The only reason I gave it a 4 over a 5 is that the breakfast is often running thin and a little greasy for my liking.

Room Tip: The privilege room upgrade is worth it. Although as I understand, wifi is now free for all guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cussmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you very mucg for taking the time to write such a great review of Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and I will ensure the team are aware of it. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing