We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable bed and spacious room. Food could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I liked this hotel. I arrived very late and the night staff were polite and accommodating. They gave me a lovely large room on the top floor which looked over the Millenium Gardens. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well-priced and I thought gave good value for money. However, I would have liked on-site parking as I was very tired on arrival and didn't feel like running up the road after parking my car in a public car-park. The breakfast was a also a bit tired and tepid and I would have liked a decent-sized pot of coffee. Nonetheless the hotel is excellently located in the centre of Sheffield and I would definitely return. I have stayed in other hotels in the Mercure group and I thought this one was the best. One thing I think the group should re-visit is the toiletries supplier - some of the competitors have higher-grade bath and shower products. Mercure's are a bit irritating to the skin!

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. I have noted your feedback and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future . Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,615 - 1,621 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

The first impression when you walk through the door 'impressive hotel, nice decor, extremely polite and helpful front of house, a service that should not go unnoticed' It all goes down hill from there. I stayed there for three days and had three rooms. I arrived on the Monday exhausted after an early morning travel and a days work; I just wanted to crash. Entering the room, it was clear that the room had not been cleaned, the carpet a mess, the room stank of grease as if someone had been eating kebabs. I tried to put up with it then gave up and went downstairs to the bar. The concierge kindly freshened the room. Gave me a free drink, however, no concellation when you are tired and just want to crash. The next morning when showering, as if things cant get worse, the shower smelt of bad eggs. I reported this to the reception the next morning who kindly reported this to the manager who found me another room. Even that room had dirty towels. Hey, better than the last. That night I had dinner in the restaurant ...how could you go wrong with a burger. The burger was bad, burnt and tasteless and the chips 'less than half of a small bowl'. The bar service was absolutely terrible. Opps almost forgot the breakfast, the breakfast is chaotic, poor service and cold, three days in a row. Nice face but poor behind! As if things could not get any worse, I had to change rooms again on the last day. I was not too bothered, however, the manager of the rooms, came and got me out of the breakfast area to tell me I needed to move my stuff. Something that could have been dealt with after I had breakfast...no he could not wait 10 minutes. I left the breakfast area and went and packed up my stuff and left it at reception for them to put into a new room that had to be cleaned. Late for a meeting, so I stopped off at a local cafe for a takeaway, nice tasting hot coffee and a hot breakfast roll .

Outside o the first impression a big disappointment..

Room Tip: Ensure you check the room for cleanliness, eat out. There are great restaurants within walking dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. If you would like to discuss this matter further please can you contact me on 0114 278 2000. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed on a Friday night to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and we loved our stay here. Very easy to park at the NCP 5 minute walk away (hotel will validate your car park token on check out so you just pay £6.50 for 24 hours). Friendly reception and friendly, helpful staff wherever we went in the hotel. Great spa - was nice and quiet Friday afternoon and early on Saturday - I imagine it can get quite busy on Saturdays with hen do's etc, so was pleased to be there on Friday. We paid a bit extra for a junior suite and we had fabulous views of the city centre from the 4th floor with magnificent floor to ceiling windows in the room's little lounge annex. Would splash out again on a suite if here for a special occasion again. Breakfast was lovely. Had to wait a few minutes to be seated but again the staff were very friendly and apologised for the wait and it was really no problem to us. I stayed here once before with a group of girls and have and still will recommend this hotel. My husband and I are already hoping we can come again for our 11th anniversary!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathA_L72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us for your 10th wedding anniversary. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back for your 11th wedding anniversary. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for one night with a friend for a night out in Sheffield.

The room was lovely and spacious with a clean bathroom. Lovely view from our room of the fountains on the square.

We spent the afternoon relaxing in the spa and around the indoor pool which was lovely. Again clean and well maintained.

The hotel is in a great location right in the middle of the shops, bars and restaurants everything is in walking distance.

The only downside was our room was next to the lift which meant listening to it going up and down through the night. It wasn't the loudest noise in the world but it was a little irritating early in the morning.

I would definitely book this hotel again for the price it was a bargain as you get use of the spa, gym and pool which was a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was delighted with your feedback and have noted your comments regarding the lift. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Me and my wife was very pleased with there service. Phillips was excellent! I think he does make every one happy. The gym, swming pool, sauna, steam and aroma room all are fantastic. We did check out 1 hour late and they let us do it. Thanks you and see you soon :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkaAbdul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to read such feedback and I will ensure Philip is aware of the comments about him. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The staff in the hotel are all very helpful and friendly althoughntherevwere language issues at breakfast.

Rooms are clean and well laid out. The place has a nice buzz about it. A pleasant atmospheric which to have a drink at the bar.

It's very conveniently situated in the city centre.

The two drawbacks were no onsite parking and being unfamiliar with the city centre it took me ages to find the car park. It was reduced to £6.50 a night for hotel guests though. If you have large amounts of luggage to transport you would be better of using the valet parking. Expensive though at £23 a night. The other nigglevwasvthatbthe breakfast buffet looked a bit on the tired side. I asked for boiled eggs abpnd they came literally raw inside and without an eggcup. I asked for an eggcup to be brought a coffee cup. Ended up paying £10 for tea and toast!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Partying666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you very much fro taking the time to review your stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa, I was most pleased to read it and have noted your feedback regarding breakfast and parking. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here last night as we were visiting Sheffield University's open day this morning and needed somewhere to stay as we were travelling quite a distance to get there. The hotel was in a great location and it was excellent value for money for such a nice hotel. The only thing that let it down badly was the policy of reception to immediately answer the telephone despite being in the middle of dealing with a customer face to face. This happened when we checked in when the receptionist, right in the middle of dealing with me, answered the phone and proceeded to have a long conversation with another customer about a booking he wanted to make for a wedding party. I thought this was very rude but didn't say anything. However, later that evening we went to reception to book breakfast for the following morning and, once again, during the conversation about breakfast and the cost etc, the phone rang and she immediately answered it whilst we stood there waiting for her to finish her phone call and come back to us. This time I did comment that I felt it was bad customer service to leave us standing there in the middle of a conversation whilst she answered the phone and when I queried if it was hotel policy, she said that it was. Apparently the manager feels that the customer on the end of the phone is obviously not aware of people being dealt with face to face so wouldn't appreciate an unanswered call, however we can hear the phone ring and know that the receptionist will come back to deal with us when she has finished the phone call. In my opinion this is very poor customer service and gives the impression that the person on the end of the phone is more highly valued than the guest who is standing at the reception desk and abandoned during an interaction. Very poor show and actually just basic bad manners.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madmary66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. I would be grateful if you would contact me on 0114 278 2000 to enable me to discuss the points you have raised. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $94 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing