We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Previous Stays at hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Rowsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Previous Stays at hotel”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hello I would just like to write a quick message just to tell you how much I have always enjoyed staying at the hotel in the past and always impresed by how one of your restaurant new my name and which room I was staying in without me even telling her exelent service alround. champagne cocktail bar is lovely. Reception staff always polite and friendly have not tried the spa yet but will deffinitly visit. looking forward to popping in next month for afternoon drink with some friends of mine. keep on doing a wonderful job. Thankyou again I hope the manager will see this.
Lord R. jOHN

Room Tip: Deffinitly visit this hotel in my eyes the best hotel ive ever been too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordjohn1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    709
    248
    108
    59
See reviews for
365
829
130
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cant think why anyone would stay anywhere else when visiting Sheffield. Everyone, including the cleaning staff, seemed to have a very positive, can do attitude be it recommendations, umbrella's, individual requests, additions to the breakfasts. The room was extremely comfortable and quiet, even on the first floor. I was worried about noise from the busy street outside but soundproofing really excellent. Didnt use the gym but it look fine, likewise the pool. So many nice restaurants and bars within a very short walk. Really did like it. Hard to believe such a modern , fresh hotel could be 8 years old. Recommended without any hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPHWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Such a bad first impression - girl on reception was so rude & unhelpful on our arrival on July 8th.
Why employ receptionist who is not welcoming ?
Everything was too much trouble - it was not even busy.

Spa facilities ok but no jacuzzi
Pool nice when not crowded but no windows.
The layout is such that you end up traipsing up & downstairs so not that relaxing.
Lunch nice with efficient service in very pleasant open plan bar overlooking Winter Gardens.
Treatments ok but had a treatment in the same room as a total stranger & therapists talked throughout massage .... They were friendly tho.

Hotel position fantastic - nicest part of Sheffield.
Training spa staff to be friendly would go a long way to improving guest experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our Spa. I was pleased to read most of your feedback but disappointed with some. Please be assured I have passed these comments onto our Spa Manager who will take the necessary action. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We came to the spa hotel as a party of 8 for a hen weekend. I was not disappointed. Lovely clean hotel, rooms were beautiful. Our beauty treatments were lovely and relaxing and the girls doing the treatments were fab, pool was very cold but spa rooms were lovely and very relaxing.
We ordered our evening meal from the 3 course set menu, i thought it was delicious, 2 of our party were not so happy with their food and sent it back but the food and drink manager (Alan???) was very helpful and sorted the problem quickly, professionally and with a smile! breakfast was also yummy!
We stayed in the hotel all night sitting at the outside bar area, drink prices were changing all night but staff were helpful and friendly, even making non alcoholic cocktails which arent on a menu for our nom drinkers!!
I will definately be booking this hotel and spa again, great value for money and highly recommened!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest Thank You for taking the time to review your recent spa stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Took my fiancée here for our anniversary and was impressed as soon as we got there - the hotel looks fantastic! The quality of service was really good, we felt really looked after. We took advantage of the valet parking and upgrade to privilege room to make the day extra special and it certainly was. The location is great too as it's smack bang in the middle of Sheffield. We booked the reviver package which included access to the spa and a treatment and a three course meal - there's not a massive choice but the food is really top class fine dining quality, as is the restaurant service. Breakfast was included, which is your usual buffet arrangement, but with a massive choice and, once again, great service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone ad will definitely come again. The only thing that stops me giving 5 stars is the spa doesn't have a jacuzzi and could do with a few more loungers around the pool.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kwok P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest Thank You for taking the time to review your recent Spa stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed for 4 days in August 2012. The hotel has a very good location- Sheffield downtown - close to many restaurants and shopping center. Nice,clean and reasonably sized room. Diversified breakfast. The most important thing: the guests have access to the excellent spa facilities and pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoguBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest Thank You for taking the time to review your stay in August 2012 at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
375 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had to be in Sheffield for a week. The hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance to Leopold Square, millennium museum, pond forge and shopping districts. The rooms are spacious and unbelievably quiet for a city hotel. The staff is friendly but not especially knowledgeable of the area or can't give concise directions.
The hotel is walking distance from the train station, although it is a climb up a hill.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review of Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I do hopw we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
2,209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing