We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“14 April 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful. The food was good and it is situated in the centre of Sheffield. We, like others, had difficulty finding the hotel entrance. Our room was very very hot and when the air conditioning was on it didn't seem to cool the room down much and there was no window which you could open. This was also the opinion of other people in our group. Our bed was hard but would say that the bathroom was clean. If we wished to stay in Sheffield another time, we would definitely try another hotel.

Room Tip: Room 420 overlooked the Winter Gardens and was a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I will ensure the team are aware of your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,772 - 1,778 of 2,484 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really enjoyed staying this hotel. My sister came up from Plymouth and we booked to stay here and was perfect in every way. Location, spa, staff in hotel could not have been more welcoming and friendly, thank you to all for making our visit so enjoyable:) Hopefully, won't to to long before we return!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnmsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for writing such a lovely review following you recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to recieve such feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards
Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Called in for a quick bite, service fab and the food excellent. Not too expensive but lovely and comfortable, definitely revisit. The waiter was very friendly and courteous and will certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Mercure St Paul's for lunch. I am pleased you enjoyed it and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Down from bradford to see ll divo on the 12th of April 2013, stayed in this hotel for one night.
The location is spot on, right beside the town hall and in the middle of the shopping area.

The room was spacious, with a good view and clean as a wistle
The breakfast for a tenner was as good as it gets.
What gives it the edge over many similar hotels is the attention of all the staff, who made our short stay worthy of my first ever review

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip_s186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the ideal hotel to stay at if your son or daughter is at Sheffiled Uni. It is sophisticated, has great food and if you visit during 'snooker' season you will meet all the players who are staying there. It is in the centre of the city so all sights are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view. You have to pay extra to have your car parked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for writing a review about Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to read such feedback. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked our spa day direct for £68 each, when, from the minute we got there the day was fantastic, a were shown around by Luke who explained how things work and were to get complimentary drinks from, a range of cold drinks and coffees, we used the pool which was lovey and warm, the thermal suite had loads off diffident rooms, we then went for lunch and had a very nice sandwich and glass of wine, after lunch we went for our treatments, we both had a massage and facial by Yasmin and I think Jodie! I can not fault any of the staff in the hotel, I guess the only real negative I can say is the relaxation room is a little small and the refreshment room is not really relaxing to sit in. Also a pain getting changed to go for lunch, but worth it as the hotel is stunning. we have booked to come back in May, and I'm going to join on the spa membership.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will101174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent spa day at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed yourself and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My now husband and I went for a quiet weekend to chill before the excitement of our wedding began and that's exactly what we got. Due to bad weather hen and stag nights were put on hold so we decided on a mini break instead. We arrived Saturday and checked in at 2pm and were told we had been upgraded free to a suite! A fantastic start to our special weekend. After lunch we went to the spa where there is a fabulous range of steam rooms, sauna, igloo and a pool etc all very lovely and relaxing. We later went to the restaurant for dinner and ordered champagne as a treat while we waited for our meal to arrive. In no time at all our meal arrived, somehow though it wasn't what we ordered and before we knew it the plates were whisked away with many apologies and ours appeared soon after complete with a complimentary bottle of wine. I have to say all this happened without one word of complaint from us, the staff were just eager to ensure everything was perfect. I also must point out there was no special treatment, they did not know it was a pre wedding weekend for us, which just goes to show how excellent they are. I can't wait to go again. No complaints from us, was just brilliant!

Room Tip: Recommend the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Alicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I will ensure the team are aware of your feedback and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $95 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing