We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent city centre hotel”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here at the end of March 2013 for one night. Very impressed. The bar area and reception is very well done and I can compliment the staff enough. This makes the difference in my opinion and all were excellent.

The room was nothing to write home about but for £74 it was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. Bathroom was well appointed and the shower excellent - for some reason the tap in the bathroom sink only ran hot water though!

We didn't eat there but used the champagne bar which was excellent. This hotel will attract stag and hen parties so be warned if you want to avoid that sort of thing - we had a group of lads either side of our room who were quite noisy early evening. No problems late at night though - probably one shandy too many sent them to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonosmithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    715
    249
    109
    59
See reviews for
369
835
131
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Firstly let me say i have stopped in hundreds of hotels. Then let me say that this hotel would easily slot into my top 3. From the start to finish the staff made my stay very very special. They are a credit to mercure. Will definately be staying here again. Cannot give any further review as there are no faults at all with this hotel. Thanks st pauls

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and I will ensure the team are aware of it. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was visiting Sheffield for a concert at the City Hall and this hotel was easy to find within easy walking distance from the train station and only a few minutes walk from the City Hall. Fantastic location, clean rooms, comfy bed and friendly staff. It met all my needs and I would definitely consider staying here again. The only downside is that £9 for 24 hours of WiFi is extremely steep, I would expect this to be a free service in a four star hotel so I used my mobile as a WIFI hotspot instead.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dazza_stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and I have noted your comments regarding the WIFI. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Honestly it's quite a nice hotel, I think it makes it out to be more than it is but that's just my opinion. It is very clean, food was ok, and drinks were immensely expensive. I mean a £5 room service charge per tray - we only had one! Lovely view over the peace gardens though even though we were only on the 3rd floor!

We had a meal in the restaurant, and to be honest it was average of the fancy restaurants you get these days - in between Nando's and Claridges.

Main point of me writing this article and I do feel I give fair reviews in places I have stayed, but - we were tidying our room after a one night stay in the hotel and my fiance looked under the bed to check for any belongings that may have slipped under during the night etc. and was very surprised to see a 12" vibrating, sex toy lodged under the bed - a clear sign the cleaners could do better. Thankfully we were able to laugh it off after they finally agreed to give us HALF our money back.

So all in all not too bad, I would stay there again - if they were a bit cheaper. Premier inn on St Mary's gate is a better hotel, and cheaper too.

All things considered - Meh!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for writing a review following you recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I am sorry that you faced some issues during your stay and am pleased that the team on duty resolved the matter for you. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing stay at the mecure hotel. Philip who checked us in was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We only stayed on a room only basis so didn't eat in the restaurant. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveto206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near furture. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I've stayed at the Mercure Hotel for a few days and i'm pleased to say i've been happy all the way through it.

As every place it isn't perfect overall but the staff is great and always ready to go the extra mile to please your stay. The greatest thing is the location, bang in the heart of the city centre!

That said very few pubs and bars can compete with the cool atmosphere you feel at the bar of the Mercure. Their bar is a sure place to spend a weekend night relaxing while having a nice drink.

Really happy i stopped there and i'll be surely back soon, maybe not to stay overnight but surely for a drink or two ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love food G G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa Sheffield. I was pleased to read your feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I am a member of the gym and spa at this hotel and to be honest I have watched it go down hill. It is in need of a refurbishment. The gym equipment is out dated by today's standards, the pool is frequently cold, the tiles are grubby and the changing rooms are dreary, cramped and often untidy. This place used to be lovely and felt luxurious but now it isn't. Members have to take their own towels, the shower gel in the showers is terrible and cheap, I always use my own. A good spa provides quality products for showering and washing hair. This place could be so much better but instead is resorting to offering cheap deals on sites like Groupon to bring in the numbers. They should take a look at a good spa like Eden Hall where you can have a luxury experience for around £70 per day including a very nice meal and take a leaf out of their book. I keep hoping it will get better but it doesn't!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank mummybobYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Spa Member Thank you for writing a review of Spa Naturel Sheffield. I would be pleased if you would contact me directly to enable the issues you raise to be fully investigated. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing