We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two night stay”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good facilities including spa. Excellent location close to town centre but also quiet. Room at night a bit too hot for our liking. Breakfast has wide range of food. Service very welcoming
Facilities in room what we required including medium sized china mugs rather than cups!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JMS1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was please to note you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    698
    246
    107
    59
See reviews for
358
821
129
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed overnight to visit theatre and Derbyshire. Excellent location for Sheffield Theatres. QP parking very convenient but rather expensive, had to ask as opposed to being offered discount from hotel. Booking in was OK but receptionist seemd to be reciting a script, failed to engage or make eye contact, in fairness same receptionist was OK on booking out. Very pleased with the room which was a good size with excellent shower/bathroom. Liked the convenience of City Centre and Theatres. No significant dislikes. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank justjake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I haven noted your feedback and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The manager and the staff could not do enough to help us during our stay, service is this hotel's strong point. Location is also great, rooms are nice and the bar/restaurant excellent for a hotel of this price.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the £20 upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher_Kiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. It was lovely to read such feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst at a party in the city centre. Overall the location is lovely, and the staff helpful (if not a little chaotic!) but we found our double room to be lacking. Whilst the room was large in size, the aircon didnt work and the bed was very uncomfortable due to a thin and worn out mattress which was disappointing given we had paid £130 for one night. The breakfast was ok, but the vegetarian options available via room service were almost non existant after 10pm.

Room Tip: The standard double was basic and the bed worn out - beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtsIandICrafts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. Please will you contact me at the hotel to allow me to discuss the matter in more detail. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

second stay at the hotel, situated right in the centre of the city. good wheelchair facilities and wet room. very friendly staff who did their best to make our stay a good one. one major fault, breakfast delivered to our room. only half my breakfast arrived. telephoned and the other half arrived by which time the first half was cold. then found no cutlery so had to phone again by which time the lot was ruined.bit like fawlty towers. was offered lunch and a glass of champaigne to compensate, neither of which we took because we ate out. all in all we enjoyed our stay but for this.

Room Tip: dont bother with room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs462772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you writing a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I have noted your feedback. I do hope we can welcome you back in teh near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinhoe
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I booked 2 rooms on the hotel's spa package which seemed really good value for money. Unfortunately before we arrived I received numerous phonecalls from the spa moving or changing our treatments - even getting the dates wrong twice! Reservations apologised for this and I was told we'd be upgraded for free on arrival. Regrettably this was over looked & we were only allocated standard rooms. The staff were apologetic and did what the could to rectify the situation...soft drinks in the room & a bottle of wine for dinner - not quite the room upgrade but they tried. Whilst we were here, through no fault of the hotels, my grandmother fell outside, the hotel were excellent from providing 1st aid to calling an ambulance, rearranging beauty treatments and then asking throughout our stay how she was, this is the attentive individual touch which makes this hotel brilliant.
The food was excellent, we had the spa 3 course and breakfasts were exceptional and although it was a buffet the chef constantly checked & replenished the food.
My only quibble would be the spa wasn't as clean as I would like & I'd recommend taking flip flops instead of the slippers which are provided. The pool was also cold.
A special mention to Stuart, Hannah and Catherine on reception for their attentiveness!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixie_rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was sorry that you experienced some issues but was delighted to read that the team were able to resolve the isuues you faced resulting in you having an enjoyable stay. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here as we went to a concert at the very close by city hall. It is in an excellent location adjacent to the winter gardens. The hotel feels very big, open and modern with lots of glass looking out on the millennium square and the gardens. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The hotel has a pool and spa area which were very quiet and relaxing. The bar was welcoming with very attentive staff. There are a number of bars, cafes and restaurants on the doorstep of the hotel, you are spoilt for choice.
Will go back again next time I am in Sheffield and I don't want to drive home :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcqueenhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking teh time to write a review follwing your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was please to note you intend to return and I do hope you do so. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing