We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea - Good but not wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Took my Mum as a treat for afternoon tea following two good experiences last year.
The staff were very pleasant and attentive and the surroundings very nice, although it could have been a bit warmer, but it was a very cold day.
We ordered the champagne afternoon tea and were served finger sandwiches (no crusts), smoked salmon, ham and mustard and cheese and pickle which were nice and fresh. There were also 2 scones and clotted cream a carrot cakes and a chocolate éclair each. Plenty to eat. The champagne was OK, not sure what brand they use as it came poured, not the best I've ever had, but by no means the worst. The scones were a disappointment whilst warm they were doughy and slightly hard on the outside as if they had been microwaved, lovely genuine clotted cream though and a choice of mini jam pots. The carrot cake was nice except for being a bit cold and the chocolate éclair was pretty bland and also extremely cold (just out of the freezer?). The pot of tea was nice.
Overall not the experience I was hoping for. My first visit for afternoon tea last July with a group of friends really was outstanding and my second, later in the year with another group was also good, however this one didn't leave me thinking I must go back again soon. I hope this was just an off day (they were quite busy) and they can bring their standards back up to where they were, as it is nice to have somewhere like this locally for a girly treat.
Probably a 3 and a half rating but made it a 4 for the good service, which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Food_Lovers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for writing a review following your recent visit to Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. I have noted your comments. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,786 - 1,792 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a rare night away from our kids together - the first in three years - and booked a Privilege Room with a "tasting menu".

The room was fine, but as a regular hotel user (at least 1 night a week) you notice things, cup marks on the TV stand, dust on the TV, smears on the full length windows and the poor state of the carpet - sagging doesn't start to describe it. All suggesting getting away with what is acceptable and not what is perfection. A little bit more attention to detail and more care and these would not have been issues. This let down a room that otherwise could have been quite sophisticated with its City View.

The tasting menu started off well, with an excellent English sparking wine and some good canapés - importantly staff (initially) took the time to explain what the food was and what the wine was. By the end of our 2nd course we were beginning to feel rushed - we were already on our 2nd glass of wine (despite not having finished our first) and staff kept on checking whether we had finished or not. We asked for 5 minutes between our 2nd course and the 3rd (sorbet course). The sorbet was brought out straight away...we asked for it to be taken away.

Our 2nd glass of wine was a very bland Rose (a tempranillo), crucially this was not one of the Les Grands vins Mecure, which was advertised as part of the tasting menu. Though we did not pick up on this at the time. Our third glass of wine for the main course was a carbernet sauvignon (hold that thought) wasn't a Grands Vins either.

The sorbet arrived, but was put down on our table with no word of an explanation as to what it was. We couldn't catch anyone's attention to ask, and only found out as our plate was being cleared what it was.

The main course was odd. It was chicken in a gloopy bisto like generic gravy with a bit of sea bass on the side. Now remember the 3rd glass of wine - the oaky spicy carbernet sauvignon? Now reds with white meats can be done and we were expecting some "oh!" moment when we realised what they had done tastewise, but the red was powerful and certainly overpowered anything on the plate - save maybe for the bisto gravy.

I forget what the dessert was.

Now the cocktail bar saved the evening for us, excellent vodka martinis.

The bed in the room was shocking - an over firm zip together bed with a dip between the two zipped mattresses.

It wasn't until after breakfast, on reading a poster in the lift , that we realised our "Privilege" room was missing an espresso machine, bath robes and slippers. Looking on Tripadvisor this appears to be a common occurrence.

On checking out we raised the lack of bathrobes etc with reception, to get a response that made us feel like it was our fault - e.g. "All you had to do was call down. - not an apology for the fact that the hotel failed to deliver it advertised service. Apparently the stocked fridge in our room was to make up for the lack of coffee machine, but on check in this was not explained (as was the free wifi).

Sandeep the "Rooms Division Manager" became involved, and said that most dreaded of phrases "What do you want me to do?". Its at times like this that you expect managers in customer service roles to take the initiative and say "This is what I'm going to do for you..." instead of trying to palm off the decision making process on to the guest. In the end we got 10% off the bill which was the value of the upgrade to "Privilege". We were also offered a free of charge upgrade the next time - which as we tried to explain at the time, that as Sheffield residents was unlikely.

Sandeep has responded to a customer satisfaction survey that I filled out - as ever with responses to criticism its full of what appear to be standard paragraphs and fails to address the issues raised. Describing the issue with the bathrobes as "odd"- its far from odd if its happened more than once, as reported here on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately correspondence from the Mecure is from "no-reply" addresses.

I've stayed in lots of Accors from Ibis to Sofitel and have found them to be of a high standard, but on this occasion found them lacking with what appears to be an effort to cut corners in room presentation and in what is offered in the room and in the restaurant. My faith in Accor was restored during the week with a good stay in the Ipswich Novotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shefnumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay. I would
be pleased if you would contact me directly to discuss the matter in more detail. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel although being modern and spacious in construction is homely welcoming and comfortable. The staff are well trained friendly and sypathetic to your needs.The lounge bar and dinning areas are excellent as is the food. I am hoping to stay there again with my wife as soon as we are able to visit our son in a local Hospital

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustyAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stay in this hotel regular for business due to its location in a large part as it is a short walk from the train station and is located right in the city centre.

However, I should like to point out that the hotel's other great feature is its staff and service, especially the reception area staff and in paticular Stewart. As an excellent example, I was struggling checking out of my room due to a very important conference call i had to attend in the bar/reception area. Stewart could see i was struggling and instead arranged for my things to be packed and collected, stored away safely in the back room, then sorted out all of the billing for me, delivering the paperwork all completed where I was sat.

This is just one example of how they have gone above and beyond the typical service of most hotels and something they seem to do regularly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review following you recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and I will ensure the team are aware of it. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I booked five rooms at this Hotel to celebrate the award of a Contract two years in the waiting.
For speed booked over the telephone direct, dealt with by a chap named Sandeep. Very professional and efficient I must say. The concierge was a happy chappie and put a smile on all our faces. We all arrived separately and were allocated our rooms, junior suites. Which by all accounts were of a high standard. Mine was one the first floor which overlooked half of Sheffield, great in the darker months but, with windows like a Goldfish bowl and having a body of a donut not an Adonis would have been interesting in summer (blinds might be an idea or nets). Pre-dinner drinks table for ten, good company, wine and food all round.
What this hotel has that not many have of the ‘chain hotel vernacular’ is service beyond the call of duty, to the extent that Mr Sandeep came at 01.30 am to our party to ask if all is well. Without this the Hotel would be good but just that. Having stayed in Accor hotels around the world this is or top hole service standards, up there with the best.
Food good at night and breakfast. Only minor negative comments would be carpets upstairs are tired plus swift removal of room service trays from Hotel corridors/stairs wells needs sorting.
The front of house team is a credit to the Accor group and gave ‘Sofitel’ not ‘Mecure’ service. Well done all round.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are good. Aviod first floor suite if you are as me carrying a bit of ballast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeeperscreepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank You so much for writing such a fabulous review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is a pleasure to read your comments and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel was great value for money at £89 for a privilege room on the top floor with views out over the peace gardens and fountains. It was also the night after valentines when prices normally go through the roof.

We were checked-in promptly and made our way to our room. The room we had was a good sized hotel room with bath and walk-in shower. We also used the spa which was nice and was included with the room.
We did not eat in the hotel for dinner or breakfast but did eat breakfast at Marmaduke's, a small cafe near by which was fantastic !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skelton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I will ensure I pass your feedback on to the team. Best Regards Luisa Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Merucre St Paul's, a really well presented centrally located hotel with everything to offer, we got the superior room at a very reasonable price of £80 on a week night. The room was definitely worth the money with a great view of the crucible and the winter gardens.

Despite the beautiful venue the hotel provides we were left feeling dissatisfied with out stay due to the rudeness of the staff upon check in. Firstly the lady 'Catherine' acknowledged us but then disappeared into the back before seeing to us.
Once she returned she addressed us in a very pretentious manor and looked us up and down as if we didn't belong in such a hotel. This made us feel very uncomfortable and unwelcome.
Just because you work in a classy hotel doesn't make you classy.

If a hotel is going to advertise rooms at £80 a night, expect working class citizens to stay, not just MPs & wealthy folk.

The superior room was great apart from the mini bar stank of rotting food, the tv volume knob in the bathroom was broken & the espresso machine in the room had no cups which would fit under the spout to dispense the coffee.

The rest of the stay was very nice after being treat like a scumbag by 'Catherine'

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawson_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $100 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing