We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Birthday Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Stay”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

stayed here in november 2011 as a surprise by my boyfriend for my birthday. He'd paid for us to be upgraded to a superior room and to have full access to the spa. The room was lovely with a great view and the bed was ridiculously wide i could lay in the middle with my arms out and still not touch both sides!! so comfy also! the spa was lovely with some regularsusing it but not very busy considering we stayed on a friday night. Its not to far away from some bars but opposite piccolinos which is now our favorite restaurant. With it being near christmas the square it isset in was lit beautifully and really added to the romantic feel of our stay. We didnt eat at the hotel although it seemed very popular. I'd stay here again if i was staying in sheffield as its lovely and the staff were very friendly although our stay was faultless so we had very little dealings with them. Parking was quite far away but this could have been my other halfs fault for not checking properly as no parking is available from the hotel but a discounted rate was available i believe at a local ncp.

Room Tip: upgrading to a superior suite is definitely worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsflyawaybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest Thank You very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was very pleased to read your feedback and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    700
    246
    107
    59
See reviews for
358
821
129
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went for a friend’s birthday for a spa experience..
When we first arrived the staffs was excellent very friendly and chatting to us about where to go on a night round Sheffield.
The room was lovely very spacious and they even let us have 3 in 1 room (don’t normally get that in uk hotels). The bathroom was lovely – all very clean.
The spa staff were very helpful and extremely friendly aswell, the experience was so relaxing.
The food (evening meal) was delicious; we had a starter, main course and dessert.
I didn’t try the breakfast as I was suffering from the night before but a friend loved it.

All this with extremely great staff and very clean spacious rooms for a very low price..
Defiantly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgina04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest Thank You very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was very pleased to read your feedback and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a 'New Years Eve Spa Break' Beautiful hotel we were upgraded to a suite which was very impressive. Meals were lovely and staff were very helpful. One word of warning we had been charged DOUBLE for the stay when we checked our credit card bill and are still trying to get our refund!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest Thank You very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was very pleased to read your feedback and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My fiance took me here for my birthday last year, and we revisited for my birthday this year. Equally good stays, lovely environment, clean hotel and facilities. Polite, welcoming and well trained staff. Paper delivered to the room for free the next morning. Free use of spa and gym, which is a lovely addition, worth making a couple of hours time to enjoy this. The location is brilliant, city centre, walking distance to everywhere and we had a view into the peace gardens attached to the hotel. Good parking, discounted rate. Really have no negatives about this place, lovely stay.

If you want to treat yourself, make the last stop of your night to the champagne bar, lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: Both rooms i have stayed in at this hotel have been lovely. Some issues with bubbly carpet, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest Thank You very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was very pleased to read your feedback and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night in January and our first impression of the hotel was excellent, staff are very smartly dressed, very polite and extremely helpful.

The hotel is lovely, is ideally situated in the middle of Sheffield city centre and within walking distance of the train station.

Our bedroom was on the 3rd floor (room 319) very spacious, very nicely furnished and had quite a nice view of The Peace Garden from our window. We were both very pleased with our room that was up until bedtime. Both my partner and I had the worse nights sleep ever in a hotel. Even though the bed looked modern it creaked at the slightest movement and sank in the middle, so much so that I spent all night hanging on to the edge of the bed.

I will be making frequent visits to Sheffield and would love to stay again at this hotel but won't if the beds remain the same poor standard. Come on Mercure Hotel, get some decent beds so we can all have a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: Ask have they replaced their beds recently
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visiting2You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I will ensure the team are made aware of your lovely feedback. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business and was very impressed . A summary of my stay:

Quick and friendly check in,
Very helpful and entertaining concierge,
Large and comfortable room, and
Excellent breakfast

I particularly liked the spa, which had a good range of CV equipment (though a couple of broken bikes) and a fabulous selection of sauna, Steam, I've and aromatherapy rooms.

I'd like to return next time I'm in a sheffield (later this month), though u fortunately the rate is now slightly over my company's limit.

I'd definitely use this hotel for pleasure (and business subject to the rates).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest Thank You very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was very pleased to read your feedback and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed there in June 2011, the hotel is located in the heart of Sheffiled, close to shops, bars and shopping malls,
+ location
+ very spacious and comfortable room
+ tasty breakfast
+ helpful staff
+ view from my room

- my room was near the elevator, so I heard it working
- there was no toilet brush in my room

I would recommend this hotel without any doubts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review - it is always a pleasure to read such feedback. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing