We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast let it down”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lovely hotel in an excellent location for central Sheffield. I had an exec room,which was very large and very well equiped.

Cant comment on the spa facilities as these were not used. Breakfast was a little disorganised with many tables left uncleared - wanted to join a collegue but had to set own place. Not a lot of staff in evidence. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    699
    246
    107
    59
See reviews for
358
821
129
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here as was going to see a show at the arena and the whole experience was absolutely first class. From arrival-a great welcome, superb room and very clean with great facilities to eating/drinking in the bar and breakfast the next morning we really enjoyed our stay. The staff are very attentive while not over bearing and nothing was too much trouble. This will be my hotel of choice when visiting Sheffield again, simply great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the winter gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonbantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Lincs
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice reception area, with a quick and efficient welcome, although confusing with the valet car parking. New hotel so everything tidy and still fresh, seems pretty clean overall. I wished I had taken my gym kit as the gym seemed to be one of the best kitted gyms in a hotel I have seen. The bar had a good atmosphere and employees friendly and pleasant. TV's need to have a better selections of channels though!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

For a comfortable , good sized roomed hotel you can't beat this one. Winston the concierge is superb nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast very good and very comfortable bar.access could be better but overalls superb

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Reception desk staff were so helpful and very pleasant. very smart reception area with a champagne bar. Our normal double room was huge and so was the shower, we had views of the winter gardens from our room which was lovely. The room was very warm which I couldn't turn down but better to be warm than freezing cold though. We ate in the restaurant and I have to say the food and the service was amazing. There was a choice to have a 3 course meal for 18.00 which is what we had and it was fantastic or you could order straight of the main menu but still not over priced. We felt a Little mislead about the valet parking from the web site, on check in I was then told it was 23.00 overnight or u could get a 10% discount at the NCP which was a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest Thank You very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was very pleased to read your feedback and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I bought myself and 2 friends travelzoo vouchers for a spa day at The Mercure, Sheffield. It was only £35.00 which said it included use of the facilities, a light lunch, glass of wine and a treatment. Although I have bought these kind of vouchers before and they have been excellent I did honestly but cynically expect that the light lunch would be practically nothing and just a good chance to sell us extras. This was totally wrong of me. We had a totally delicious lunch with excellent service and not made to feel inferior being on a package at all. We chose the wine we all wanted, not just house plonk. The treatment we all had was a back/neck massage and we all said it's the best we've ever had. Again no pressure selling whatsoever.

I cannot praise the staff and quality of food etc enough. I can only hope and imagine that the hotel itself is a similar standard. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and given all the information we could want so that we weren't left wondering what to do etc.

My only comment would be that we were disappointed to find there were not jacuzzis in the spa but that was my fault for more or less taking it for granted that there would be and not reading the info properly.

I really thank the staff for a lovely day and it's somewhere I would go back to (even if not on such an excellent price package) as it was so enjoyable. Thank you.

Liz
Doncaster

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your visit to Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

First vision on walking in - a policeman taking a statement from a guest who had been mugged. Room over hot and temperature controls did not work, despite turning it to cold. None of the room windows opened. We could not regulate the heat - which made for a very poor nights sleep. Staff friendly and nice but over worked stressed and tired. There was a big event on when we went - be warned - do not go if an event on - 20 minutes for an over priced drink in a warm glass or a cold coffee. Tables not cleaned. 2 Waiters dropped cups/glasses all over the place (due to been stressed it seemed!)

None of the staff told us about the 10% discount for parking at Q Park even though we'd asked about parking. Another member of our party had phoned to ask about parking and they were not told either.

Also the room windows at the top where covered in cob webs! The toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall. The toiletries had forgotten to be refilled. Very off putting! Room 510. Very clean otherwise.

When I complained the Duty Manager said - this hotel might be too busy for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing