We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very central location”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Lovely spa hotel, so nice we wanted to stay in the spa all day! Romantic get away.reccommend silversmiths restaurant 5mins walk away-need to book this restaurant in advance tho

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_red30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager6628, Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure St Paul’s in Sheffield and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    709
    248
    108
    59
See reviews for
365
829
130
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Excellent service, the room was amazing and the staff were really helpful. We only stayed one night wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayla464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure St Paul’s in Sheffield and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I cannot fault this hotel at all - services and staff are faultless!
The hotel is centrally located and close to the train station. It also has the beautiful Winter Gardens next door which is nice for a short stroll.
The rooms are large and mine had a nice view of the town. All comforts are provided for - clean, large rooms with ample amenities.
Staff are great, looked after my every need and were more than helpful
Thank-you for a great stay, I will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure St Paul’s in Sheffield and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Usefully located hotel situated in centre of Sheffield with valet parking approx £20 a night. Largish bar and meeting area with helpful staff. Bedrooms fairly large but rather tired decor. Bathrooms clean and fairly well equipped though rather clinical. The usual irritating air conditioning themostatic control and no opening windows. Iron and ironingboard in room which was useful. Charging for internet usage is rather excessive when it is freely available elsewhere. The breakfast was good with a wide variety and well cooked. A good hotel for business or shopping use but not suitable for romance or families. 18m swimming pool in basement was a pleasant surprise with additional steam rooms. The staff were particularly pleasant and cheerful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sequinOxfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure St Paul’s in Sheffield and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Clean modern rooms in a hotel that is right in the centre of Sheffield. The breakfast was good but we did not eat here in the evening. The atmosphere like with most chain hotels needs to be warmed up slightly but all the staff were very friendly. Will stay here next time need a hotel in Sheffield.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jblnd3811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here 2nd November. First room offered the bath had a broken hot water tap. Moved to another room which seemed fine until the next morning when I had a shower. Luke warm and no toiletries. ARRRGGGHHH.

The hotel is in a great location and the champayne bar over looking the Winter Gardens is really nice shame about the hot water though !!!

Room Tip: Try overlooking the winter gardens !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haydn1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager6628, Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure St Paul's in Sheffield . I’ll look into this matter for you. If you have five minutes, please give me a call to discuss. Kind regards, Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The Yard restaurant at Sheffield's Mercure St Paul's Hotel is something of a hidden gem. There's a comfortable champagne bar (with good cocktail menu) where you can order a wide range of bar meals and sumptuous Sandwiches, and there's the main restaurant, offering a large menu of modern European flavours and select world wines to match.

We found the service excellent; friendly, helpful and accommodating. Even accompanying nibbles such as a selection of olives and roast almonds were generous in portion.

The cooking was absolutely excellent and it was also not a problem to make the odd substitution on the plate. Presentation was good, the taste and quality of produce better still - for very reasonable prices too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodeater78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager6628, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal at Mercure St Paul’s in Sheffield and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Luisa Esposito General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
2,209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Property: Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing