We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern British cuisine”

Peppercorn Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 1,464 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Peppercorn is a great, local restaurant which offers superb food and fine wines at very affordable prices. Chef Charlie Curran uses fresh, seasonal and wherever possible local sourced ingredients to create fantastic menus which incorporate new ideas with old classics. Service is friendly, informal and always with a smile!
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent modern British cuisine”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Delighted to discover some of the best food we've had in Sheffield out by Dore station! We ate from the Carte - although the midweek £5, £10, £5 menu also looked good. Homemade bread rolls with Henderson's Relish butter set the tone and we knew then that we were in for a treat. Both our starters (duck bonbons, tea smoked duck breast and black pudding scotch egg) were incredibly good. Our mains too (belly pork and lamb with sweetbreads) were beautifully presented, well-balanced and - most importantly - very tasty. We had a side order of beans with goats cheese and chilli which worked brilliantly. Both our desserts were lovely too; a special mention for my elderflower mousse with raspberry sorbet - a light and delicious way to end a very good meal.

We were pleased to find a carefully selected few Spanish wines on the list and enjoyed our Rueda. Perfect on a warm June evening.

Don't be put off by the unprepossessing exterior - the food is excellent, the service impeccable and very friendly. Nice and buzzy on a Thursday evening. The a la carte menu is perfect for a special occasion and I would imagine the midweek menu would be a treat for a more everyday meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judithhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    49
    20
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shefield South Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Thank you for lovely evening, the food was excellent, the staff very friendly which made for a lovely atmosphere!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“We will be back t”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Started my evening with a cosmopolitan cocktail at the bar lovely. There was just two of us and although the tables are a little small,and the view of the fire extinguisher is not the best, it didn't spoil our evening. Duck starter was delicious and my main course of Turbot wonderful, sticky toffee pudding and a nice bottle of red to complete a great evening. Thank you everyone for giving us a lovely night we will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trishadunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely for special occasions, and often just for fun.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've had two family parties here, and a very big birthday, plus a couple of nights out. Two of those occasions were with our very well behaved grandchildren, who were treated just as any adult customer, and asked what food they would like. Children's style food (not on the menu) was offered, but we always keep to proper grown up dishes when taking them out.

We had a fantastic time on all occasions. There are lovely champagne cocktails and a well stocked bar with lots of variety. Food was excellent as always: atmosphere superb, table beautifully set, service faultless with friendly competent staff who know how to look after customers. Wine is reasonably priced and a small but good selection. Regular menu changes mean there is always something new to look forward to, and we are back as often as we can.

Really can't fault this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SheffieldsBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pulled out all the stops for Mum's 70th”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

When my mum decided to book a restaurant to host her 70th birthday lunch which I had never visited, I was a little worried to say the least! 18 ladies who lunch and a milestone birthday were steep targets to hit. However, I have to say that they hit every one. Peppercorn do not open at lunchtime unless it's a large table. Kelly worked with my Mum to create a menu with 2 options for each course and an excellent wine choice to meet the high standards that these ladies expect (luncheon club at Baldwins every month is a high standard!) We all arrived to be met by Kelly and her fabulous staff with a suggestion of drinks. Obviously the fact that the weather was gorgeous helped. The menu was perfectly composed; salmon three ways and duck for starters. Not a morsel was left on the plate. The mains arrived; I ordered the monkfish in a korma sauce; it was absolutely beautiful; delicate and fragrant; another empty plate. Desert was Eton Mess, not messy enough for my liking but absolutely gorgeous! All in all, cannot recommend this restaurant, the staff and it's setting enough.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MelCutlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppercorn Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Peppercorn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing