We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Going back soon!”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We went for a birthday celebration, this hotel was recommended by my daughter. They had a really good deal on for a Sunday,which we took advantage of. The room was lovely,the staff wonderful,and the evening meal very enjoyable! I have booked again with friends for an overnight stay in March. I do not go to many hotels twice,but this one is well worth another visit!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audSeaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

Drove to the hotel, roads clear until the country lane to the hotel, it was an ice rink, not the hotel's fault as it was a public road.
Arrived at the hotel, reception efficient, shown to room, it was round the side via a very treacherous path, but it was worth the danger!
Room was more of a suite, with a small sitting room with TV and seats, large bedroom with enormous bed, and an impressive bathroom.
Very quiet as the hotel had booked Christmas parties, but due to the snow 120 odd revellers did not turn up. Had evening meal, all right but nothing to shout about. Invited to but declined disco, retired to room, disco finished at 12pm on the dot, then 100% peace.
After excellent nights sleep, did I mention bottle of bubbly in room, negotiated path again for breakfast, buffet style and plenty of it.
Off to Sheffield for day then onto Stadium to see Jeff Wayne's War of the Worlds, back to the hotel to another bottle of bubbly, good sleep and another excellent breakfast, this time served in our room.
We'll be back as soon as we find another offer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geepster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed here recently while attending a wedding and were pleasently supprised by how nice the hotel and surroudnings were.

It is in a very pretty location and has a nice atmosphere we did nowever have a couple of moans.

We were attending a wedding at the hotel but decided due to being ill that we would head up to bed about 11pm, sadly when we arrived back in our room we realised our room was directly above the function room. the noise was so loud that holding a conversation was impossible and the vibrations could be felt throughout the whole room including the bed. sleep was therefor impossible until 00:45 when everyone had left the room below. I understand it is customery to allocate rooms to function guests close to the function room but it would have been nice to have been informed when checking in that our roon was unusable while the function was taking place. the function suite is fairly small and so i can only assume a small number of rooms suffer as badly as we did. it was wrong of the hotel to assume that everyone attending wants to be awake until the early hours of the morning.

Breakfast was enjoyable but offered only a small selection of cerials and hot items.

I would recommend this hotel however i would urge caution when there are wedidngs taking place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrs_p81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is a nice Sheffield Gem with a good restaurant, nice location and historic building.

Unfortunately while the staff are all very polite there is a lack of organisation at breakfast time with many guests wondering about not sure where to sit, and sometimes being greeted before sitting down, and sometimes being ignored (as no one was there).

Rooms 7, 8, 9 and possibly others are situated near to the loud humming of the kitchen fan which will wake you in the morning and does not go off until 10.30 - 11.00 at night.

So, despite the location we were not impressed overall.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimjamyaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. Very comfortable room - although a little small for the amount of furniture. Very rural environment - you wouldn't think you were on the edge of Sheffield and not far from the M1. Quiet location in valley. Good breakfast served, but the star of the show was the restaurant. Excellent food from an imaginative menu and well priced for the quality of the meals. There was a wedding in the hotel during the Saturday afternoon and evening, but this caused no disturbance to us or other guests as it was held in a separate room. Service was very good and friendly from all the staff. They have obviously been well picked and trained.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed on 22.01.11 for 1 night (romantic break) for a birthday treat. The room was lovely (room 5) very comfortable and we had 2 glasses of Port in the room waiting for us as well as the sparkling wine included in the romantic break package. The dinner menu was interesting and tasty with lots of choice and the staff very helpful. We would definitley return to Whitley Hall and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeraldgirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

If you are looking for a fine dining experience with quality, this is the place to visit. Food, ambience, staff, first class.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleothemoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
274 reviews
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $99 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing