We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night away”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful night away”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked this hotel for a 1 night break and that was our big mistake. It was absolutely wonderful and we wished that we had booked for longer. On arrival we were met by wonderful, smiling faces who couldn't have been more welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel that we could ask about anything. Our room was lovely and the food was absolutely fantastic. The dinner was good enough to have been served at a Michelin star restaurant so hats off to the chef. The same with breakfast, there was everything and more that you could possibly have wanted. Lovely gardens with peacocks and very quiet whilst we were there which was mid-week. A big thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    223
    91
    26
    15
See reviews for
161
533
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Whitley Hall are currently offering a 3 course lunch (with glass of bubbly) for £14.50. Excellent!
The menu (whilst with only 3/4 options) left us spoilt for choice. Our meals were beautifully cooked and presented and served by friendly attentive staff, who were there when you needed them but lefts us alone to sit and chat without rushing us out.

A great experience!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CayleyDimelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for a family wedding early may time.

Wedding was a joy, weather not so great but we did get outside for photos/drinks etc.

Food was lovely both for the day and evening reception.

Drinks rather expensive but that is what you would expect from a hotel bar.

Room was fantastic, had two beds put in for the children however as the room was so large it was fine.

Breakfast the next morning was lovely and relaxed.

All in all a great time was had and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally0574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful location , high standard of accommodation
Excellent staff , hotel had two weddings on , what a great place to have a wedding !!!!
We stayed on night , will return
brilliant for a special occasion

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samelainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went for the package including Sunday Accomodation + Dinner + Breakfast. The room was lovely, including a very nice - and unexpected - welcoming package. Although there was a wedding held in the hotel while we were there, we haven't been bothered at all.
The room was very quiet, the staff very friendly. The hotel is very nice.
The dinner was delicious, and of very good value for money.
We have just been slightly disappointed by the breakfast, where pastries would have been appreciated but in overall we spent a wonderful weekend there.
We highly recommend this hotel for romantic breaks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Th0masA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My sister and I stayed for one night, very enjoyable. The bedroom had everything you need and very comfortable. The weather was glorious, we were able to sit outside in the lovely garden and share a bottle of bubbly. Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly. The only disappointment for us was the evening meal, not up to 4 star standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTM700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at Whitley Hall to celebrate a family member's birthday (I won't say how old the lady in question was!) The hotel itself is a wonderful mix of old and modern which has been done in a really tasteful way. There's ample parking and the grounds are beautifully kept with two small lakes and a peacock with a true sense of the dramatic. Our room was in the modern part of the hotel and situated on the ground floor overlooking one of the lakes. The room was great, see picture below, and as well as tea/coffee we also were given a small carafe of port! The bed was very comfortable and a plus was the iron and ironing board provided along with all the usual facilities. The hotel staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient and as well as enjoying a hot buffet at the birthday celebration, we also enjoyed lunch choosing the, "Let's do lunch", menu which was super (see dessert below) and included a glass of bubbly! The inclusive breakfast was excellent and the dining room is a very pleasant place to eat with views out onto the grounds. We'd certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out over the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
255 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Property: Whitley Hall Hotel
Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing