We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whitley Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Staindrop Lodge(Sheffield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockingham Arms(Rotherham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wortley Hall(Wortley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Welcome Inn(Rotherham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveler rating
712
251
104
37
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
251
104
37
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary portthe parkerresident peacockluxury roomdb bbeautiful hotelnew wingwedding partyfour poster bedbirthday treatlovely groundswedding breakfastmain buildingwedding receptionsunday lunchbar pricesbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
774 - 779 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at Whitley Hall to celebrate a family member's birthday (I won't say how old the lady in question was!) The hotel itself is a wonderful mix of old and modern which has been done in a really tasteful way. There's ample parking and the grounds are beautifully kept with two small lakes and a peacock with a true sense of the dramatic. Our room was in the modern part of the hotel and situated on the ground floor overlooking one of the lakes. The room was great, see picture below, and as well as tea/coffee we also were given a small carafe of port! The bed was very comfortable and a plus was the iron and ironing board provided along with all the usual facilities. The hotel staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient and as well as enjoying a hot buffet at the birthday celebration, we also enjoyed lunch choosing the, "Let's do lunch", menu which was super (see dessert below) and included a glass of bubbly! The inclusive breakfast was excellent and the dining room is a very pleasant place to eat with views out onto the grounds. We'd certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out over the grounds.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Ate here for a birthday celebration and was pleasantly surprised by the building. Full of character and lots of little nooks and crannies that made it feel very historic. The grounds were also very well presented with a nice pond out of the back.

The food was absolutely delicious. I began with the risotto which I think is the tastiest starter I have ever eaten, followed by the sirloin steak. The variety of breads was also a nice touch with different infusions in the flavour. Staff very attentive and the dining hall was immaculate.

I would highly recommend for a Dinner treat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed on Sunday night to celebrate my husbands birthday. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and we got the room I requested which made me very happy. The room was lovely and the bathroom very clean. We had a problem with the hot water which was swiftly sorted out and the duty manager was brilliant and very apologetic but it wasn't much of a problem. The afternoon tea was beautiful, we took it in the lounge which was very relaxed and informal. There was a wedding on and the staff were very busy but professional at all times. The evening meal was nothing spectacular but very nice. We had the set menu which was part of the d,b & b the desserts did not offer much choice but I was quite full after lunch and the first two courses so this wasn't a massive problem. However, the breakfast in the morning was superb and ended our stay on a good note. The reception staff and management really stood out at Whitley hall, I would definitely recommend staying here for a relaxing grown up evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLP38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2nights to attend a wedding at the hotel. Wedding was perfect, food was great. Could not fault the food/bar or hotel grounds. Room was quite small, so struggled a bit with getting ready for the wedding. Bathroom more spacious, and very modern. Walls were a bit thin as could hear people in the corridors when trying to sleep. However, all minor problems in an overall great stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank hayless1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We held our wedding reception here in the Whitley Suite on 12th April 2014 - the whole event was faultless from start to finish. Special thanks to Marie for helping us plan our day and to James who ensured that everything went according to plan. The food was delicious, including the evening buffet and breakfast the next morning. The grounds were beautiful as always and all our guests enjoyed every minute. Thank you Whitley Hall for making our wedding a day to remember for all the right reasons :-) we're looking forward to our complimentary anniversary stay x

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews