We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Absolutely fantastic. The hotel is really well appointed and the staff were excellent. We travelled with an 8 month old, and the staff put a lot of thought and effort into providing us with a high chair and a suitable place for dining and were very attentive to his and our needs. We were made to feel very welcome.

The customer service was also top notch. My wife has some confusion with the package that we were on and we queried this with the desk, and without argument they changed the package and made arrangements (until my wife sheepishly called the desk to apologise after checking our confirmation email). This wouldn't have been handled as well in many hotels, and we were so impressed that we were well looked after (despite being wrong!)

We have dined with Whitley Hall in the past, and have found the experience to be excellent. If anything, the dining experience has improved - a pianist was playing which helped what had previously been a very quiet dining room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheffieldSarah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a nice review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Whitley Hall Hotel. Everyone is welcome here!

It's really great to know that our staff were attentive to your needs, we've passed your comments on to them.

The pianist along with other live acts will be playing in the restaurant more in the coming weeks.

Come back again soon!

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Whitley Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed overnight bed and breakfast and having found this little gem through trip advisor. Staff excellent, very friendly and helpful. This is a four star and very worthy of it. The attention to detail whilst subtle adds to the experience. Only stopped for breakfast but that was excellent. Grounds superb. Definitely return and tell others. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Professional staff, impeccable service, outstanding food and a calm comfortable ambiance throughout the hotel. Incomparable value for money. Whitley Hall is traditional and full of character with beautifully maintained grounds, small lake and outdoor seating areas.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review - it really is great to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind comments will be passed over to our staff.

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have stayed at the Whitley Hall many times and we love it. It is in nice surrounds , the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean.
We love the menu of the evening meal, the food is always cooked to perfection and my favourite is their home made breads. There always seems to be a good ambience in the dining
room and not a lot of noise and rushing about as you get in most hotels.

The one thing that let's the Whitley Hall down is the breakfast. There is never any grapefruit segments although there is mixed fruit salad and prunes etc it is as traditional to breakfast as is cereals and bacon and eggs. Also there are never any scrabbled eggs.
On the morning we left , the eggs were dried up, the bacon was dried up and the beans were drying up. This is not just on this occasion it is each time we stay.

We will stay again but I just wish the breakfast could improve, other hotels seem to get it right.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to review Whitley Hall Hotel.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments regarding the breakfast and will be sure to convey them to the kitchen team. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your review.

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I booked for my partners birthday, for a the romantic break deal, including dinner, breakfast and sparkling wine and port in the room. We were in one of the new extension deluxe rooms, was lovely, we looked onto the carpark, however this did not spoil the break at all. We had to wait quite a while, around an hour after we had booked a table for our evening meal, the hotel was busy and it seemed a few couples were seated late. I did think it was too long a delay, but being honest, we did not realise as we were enjoying the evening. Food was fab, no criticism at all, both dinner and breakfast. Service good, with likeable, friendly staff. My bill on checkout was incorrect, including drinks we had purchased at the bar, this was corrected immediately, without debate. All in all, a wonderful break, my partner loved his birthday treat, so 10/10 from me.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AjyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to review Whitley Hall Hotel.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate your feedback regarding your waiting time, unfortunately we had some tables scheduled before your initial reservation time that arrived late and this delayed service slightly. We're really glad that you loved your food & found our staff good - it's what we like to hear!

We hope that we welcome you back to Whitley Hall again soon

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed on a secret Sunday package, we stayed in the new part of the hotel the room was fantastic, we had the three course Sunday dinner which was great, the staff could not do enough for you, would recommend for anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 46tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit, we hope to welcome you back again soon

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I visited Whitley Hall for 2 nights Monday 17th and Tuesday 18th Feb. It was just amazing!
The hotel was perfect for a romantic getaway. The service was excellent, the food totally amazing, room very spacious and clean. We booked two nights on the romantic getaway deal and it was outstanding value. for £55 per person it included glass of port on arrival, bottle of rosé both nights, £35 voucher off evening meals plus B&B. The breakfast was perfect. I recommend afternoon tea.
We really cannot fault our visit it was just perfect. I did however come away half a stone heavier!! I do however wish it had a spa facility.

Room Tip: Room 18 was stunning and nicely tucked away in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrummey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We're really glad that you enjoyed your break at Whitley Hall Hotel and we'll be sure to pass your comments on to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Romantic Breaks are available all year round!

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
266 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
765 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
467 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $98 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing