We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel & setting”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel & setting”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had a lovely stay at this hotel on a Friday evening. I had an upgraded room, which was decorated very well with an amazingly comfortable bed. My only criticism is the room was on the small size which was a little disappointing considering it was an upgraded room.

The grounds are lovely and were being well used by the wedding party & photographer who were at the hotel. It is worth noting this that as it is a lovely spot clearly there will be weddings and as a couple on our own it did mean there were limited places to sit/drink when the wedding parties were in the grounds. When the party returned to their private room for the party it was much better

We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, but had a lovely breakfast in the morning.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boosh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    235
    93
    28
    15
See reviews for
166
555
16
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

As always staff are extremely attentive and kind. Food in the restaurant is a must! We have never had a bad meal, cleanliness is very high in all areas of the hotel. A place to always look forward to returning to

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Despite being so close to the City the hotel maintains a country house feel. The room I had was new, well-maintained and v clean. Sound-proofing is also v good so don't worry if the wedding disco is still running when you want to sleep.

Only down sides - Sunday b'fast finishing at 9.30 is a little uncivilised, esp if staff are clearing the room around you by 9.45, and for a hotel aspiring to this quality serving long life juice doesn't work for me.

Overall v good though and would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_hitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denby Dale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay for my partner's brother's wedding. The room was really lovely & spotlessly clean. The bed was also one of the comfiest I've slept in! The grounds were also beautiful- it was just a shame about the weather- luckily there were nice big parasols to shelter beneath!

As for the very few negatives- the prices were rather expensive...£4.50 a pint... (was to be expected). Also, as someone's mentioned previously- the whole place was boiling (it was July though!)

Overall, though, we loved it & are even thinking about having our wedding here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForsterDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Overnight stay which was a deal that the hotel was offering including evening meal, overnights stay, breakfast and bottle of wine in room. The hotel is picturesque in beautiful grounds and the staff were friendly and very welcoming. The room was a great size and very comfortable, I loved the original features and great quality soft furnishings. The food was definitely the highlight of the stay, excellent fresh produce, equally tasty and presentation was top-notch. I really enjoyed this stay, a great little get-away but not too far for a spot of shopping in Sheffield. The only thing to note was that the room was very warm overnight therefore the bedding which was very comfortable but is more suited for colder weather.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selsy_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Driving from Newcastle after a long and arduous work week I decided a nice none basic hotel was well earned and choose Whitley Hall Hotel.
I rang the hotel and was delighted to be informed that there was a room available.
The fact that it was directly above a wedding disco was not mentioned nor did reception have the courtesy to mention this when I arrived to book in.
I am writing this review at 11.45 in a room with the windows closed ( no air conditioning) in sweltering heat in a vain attempt to drown the pulsating music. The bad manners of the management staff in not informing me that I would have to endure this noise and giving me the choice of choosing elsewhere has sullied my experience and earned them this poor review.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if is there a wedding taking place and request a quiet room not directly over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
11 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

First of all let me congratulate the hotel for its stunning location; however let me make it clear the hotel plays on this and makes as much money as it can during peak wedding season (2 a day). The catering was very good however the lack of bar staff later in the evening proved extremely frustrating including mixed messages when trying to pay for any refreshments on your room bill. One person wanted the key, the next person wanted your paper booking card and a third wanted both! Would it not be easier to issue a card when checking in seeing as you've already deducted £100.00 against a debit/credit card at check-in? Another radical move would be to install more PDQ machines, saves having to go to reception to pay for drinks, thereby reducing delays serving other paying guests. While the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are nice but small and any noise from others guests can prove frustrating. Some may mention the prices being a little high, but remember the location and it is a hotel after all. Would I stay again, not likely but you can say never.

Room Tip: New section of the hotel, minus the charm of the hotel but you'll get a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
262 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
744 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Property: Whitley Hall Hotel
Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing