We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant weekend”
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have had an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast. The hotel is charming and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We had an upgraded room in the new part. The room was great. The dinner was extremely good. Very modern and like eating something from Masterchef. I would recommend this anybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    226
    92
    28
    15
See reviews for
162
542
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I don't usually bother with these kind of sites but after a recent visit to this hotel I felt that I must.
Where to start? The hotel itself is spectacular, set in stunning grounds and the decor inside is very tastefully done and compliments the building perfectly. The open fire in the seating area is also much appreciated at this time of year!
The staff here are an absolute credit to the hotel, so welcoming from the minute you walk through the door to the second you leave. Everyone we encountered were very approachable and helpful with smiles on their faces (which is a rare find in itself these days!)
The food we had was very received, imaginative (without being pretentious), well cooked, well presented and above all very tasty!
At the time we stayed we got a very good deal (which I believe is only available January and February) and included dinner, bed and breakfast plus we had a bottle of pink sparkly stuff waiting for us in our room.
I'm not sure which hotel the negative reviewers on here were describing but it certainly was not the same hotel that myself and my wife just visited! If you want a first class hotel with a first class service then you expect to pay that little bit more for it but Whitley Hall have got the balance just right.
My only negative comment would be that the room in which we stayed was on the ground floor and looked out onto the front of the hotel so felt a little exposed. This is only a minor point though and the next time we stay we will simply request a room on the higher floor.
We will definitely be back to visit the hotel again as soon as we can escape the daily grind, don't change a thing!

Room Tip: Choose a room at he rear of the hotel to appreciate the lovely grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldJohn962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as part of the Champagne stop over with 6 friends and it was lovely, from start to finish the staff was friendly and attentive.

The ambience of the whole place is a country hotel, you could place yourself any where but it is on the outskirts of Ecclesfield, beautiful rooms and surroundings to match.

The food was lovely, especially the Dandilion and Burdock ice cream, Wow.

Breakfast is lovely and sitting having coffee with the open fire is just what you need when your slightly worse for wear.

Thank you to all the staff, I will definitely be returning in the warmer months to enjoy the scenery as the gardens and the brook with all the wildlife is a must.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cassidyclan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed in December, and booked a room for 2 nights...room 15..lovely room, but beware ..if there's a wedding you might as well be in the function room..appalling level of noise, everything shook in the room, even the decanter of port! why the management allow it I'll never know.

The prices of food and drink is disgraceful, a real rip off, go to the Red Lion down the road for great food and great prices!!

Breakfast was included but they need to get it right, hard bacon, hard fried eggs, hard black pudding and lukewarm tomatoes and mushrooms
Would I stay there again...NO..not at £95 a night, stayed in much better places for far less.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I attended an evening wedding reception in between the Christmas holiday break and were totally disappointed with the place.
The building itself is lovely and in a beautiful setting but once inside be prepared for a shock or two.
The price of drinks is an absolute rip-off with a pint of beer not far short of £5 and with a vodka and tonic added comes to a whopping £9.80. Talk about taking advantage of a captive audience.
The price for staying the night - even for guests of the wedding - was over £90!!!!
And as for the toilets, the ladies floor was swimming in water(?) all night and never mopped up whilst the mens had hand towels just piled on the sink top so that by the end of the night the ones that didn't end up on the floor were simply wet through.
From what we experienced that night I wouldn't be booking there for any occasion soon, or indeed recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had the pleasure of having our wedding here on the 29th December and the whole experience was an absolute joy. Whitley has all the grace and charm befitting a building of its history and age, yet is still small enough to be cosy and inviting, especially when the weather is less than great outside. Picture a roaring fire, a glass of brandy and the resident peacocks wandering the grounds. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive, particular thanks to Jack, the food was superb and all our guests commented on how much they loved the place. I suspect many of them will be back, I know we will. Thank you all for making our day so very special!

Room Tip: Ask for the Peacock Room, it's stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Whitley Hall on 28/12/12 for a family wedding and I have got to say that it is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in and would stay there again. We loved everything about it, the staff, food, grounds, location etc...

Room Tip: All the rooms seem very nice room number 6 was quite spacious. We stayed in room 8 which had excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
260 reviews
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Property: Whitley Hall Hotel
Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing