We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whitley Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Sheffield Centre(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
$69
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$60
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Leopold Hotel(Sheffield)
$112
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
$79
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$54
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halifax Hall(Sheffield)
$79
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveler rating
714
255
105
37
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
255
105
37
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary portthe parkerresident peacockluxury roomdb bbeautiful hotelnew wingwedding partyfour poster bedbirthday treatlovely groundswedding breakfastmain buildingwedding receptionsunday lunchbar pricesbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
956 - 961 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding here in 2011 and the staff were brilliant. We have since returned for Romantic breaks and have always had a lovely time. The rooms, public areas and grounds are all gorgeous. It's a real gem of a hotel. It's this hotel I use as a yard stick for every other we go to in England.

Room Tip: Look out for special deals on the website, especially the ones we're you get a meal and a bottle of fizz. They are great value.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magenta29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a few times a couple of years ago. It was a wonderful 3 star hotel then but is now a well deserved 4 star. There have been a few new develpoments in the grounds which make this a wonderful wedding or party setting. Even in November the grounds are gorgeous with a mill pond, ducks and peacocks.
On arrival in your room there is a complimentary small decanter of port. And the rooms are so comfortable and relaxing. Everything you needs including a few toiletries.
There is a bar area and fabulous lounge with comfy chairs and sofas and a roaring fire. The food is better than ever - check out the menu.
There are a few business people who stay here but to get the most out of this characterful hotel go for a romantic break. You will get the best deal booking direct with the hotel - just give them a ring. The staff are very helpful and friendly.
I love this place.

Room Tip: Room 42 is in the newer annex with a great view over the pond and wooden 'jetty'. Room 19 is in the older part of the building but equally comfortable and at the other end of the hotel and a little more secluded.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is on the outskirts of Sheffield in a lovely rural location.
The hotel has the feeling like you are going home. Interior design pleasing and homely. Beautiful decor , throughout.
Lovely real fires going in all the reception rooms.
All the staff had a smile on their faces, rare these days ! Couldn't do enough to help make your stay comfortable.
Food presentation and taste was extremely good. Staff aware of gluten free diets , which is always a plus for me !
Fantastic deals to be had and not to be missed ! We had the romantic break.
Lots of lovely touches in hotel. In the bedroom we had a small decanter of port and also a bottle of sparkling wine on ice awaiting us on arrival.
The lady who owns the hotel also is very much on hand every day of the week and was very welcoming and helpful
Basically , I can't fault this hotel and am going back in December for a Christmas party.
The only negative was there was a wedding being held there and the music at night was extremely loud and only stopped at midnight and we had to have an early start the next day. But apparently this DJ wasn't the resident one and the hotel did complain to him about the level of noise.
But all in all, stay here if you need to be in the Sheffield area. You won't be disappointed, especially if you can get one of their fantastic deals ! Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Beautiful hotel in pretty surroundings. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was great. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely be returning to Whitley Hall. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a brilliant evening! A wonderful 6 course meal each one with a wine to suit & both food & wines were gorgeous.I am no wine expert but each one was described quite entertainingly & found it interesting.The hotel is welcoming & staff were friendly & attentive.........nice not to be served by robots!!!!!!We met some lovely people ,had a good chat & laugh, what more do you need for a great evening?!So hope there will be more events like this ...............soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cardlady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T, Guest Relations Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

We would like to thank you for your really kind comments and we have had some really good feedback from our wine tasting evening. We are already working on a schedule of these sort of events for 2013 , so please keep looking on our website for these events. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews