We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitley Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

My parents treated my husband and I to a night at the Whitley hall hotel for our first anniversary. The room was very nice and clean and it was a nice touch having a complimentary bottle of wine and decanter of port in the room. The food was very nice and the lounge a very relaxing and comfortable place to spend the evening. The only comment I would make about the hotel is that it is situated down a long road, well away from the nearest village. This didn't matter for us because we enjoyed the peace and quite in the countryside and we only stayed for one night. However if you stayed for a longer period I would imagine this is a bit of a pain, if like us you like to walk into the local village and have a look around. A beautiful hotel though, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubeusMinerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    219
    88
    26
    15
See reviews for
156
519
15
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed here recently whilst sitting a professional examination over two days in Sheffield so it was really important for me to have a quiet room and a good night's sleep. The room was extremely quiet and luxuriously furnished. A fast broadband connection was available and I was also able to pick up the hotel's wireless network from my room, despite being in the furthest room from the reception. The staff were extremely helpful and the food was excellent. My stay could not have been better. I hope I can visit again under more relaxing circumstances!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room when I booked and I was not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We visit Sheffield in November every year and have stubbled to find a good hotel but Whitley Hall is now our firm favourite. We have just arrived home from our 3rd visit which was once again excellent. This is a small friendly hotel. The rooms are comfortable, well furnished and nicely decorated. We prefer the rooms in the old part of the building but those in the new wing, which has been built in the same design so fits in very well, are good as well.

The lounge area is very comfortable, especially if you can get the seats in front of the fire on a cold day. The service is good and all the staff we have met have been friendly. Audrey the manager is particularly good and cannot do enough for you.

We have only eaten Sunday lunch in the restaurant but that is very good quality and great value at £26 for 3 courses. I had a look at some of the "poor" reviews and saw complaints about the price of drinks but the seemed perfectly reasonable to me.

We have already booked again for next year and this time are staying an extra night so we can sample dinner. Looking forward to it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

What a great day, Just like to thank Marie and jonathan and all the staff who made my daughters day one to remember, special thankyou to charlotte who set all the tables, they looked fantastic. Many thanks to the chefs who did a splendid job.
The food was fantastic, The rack of lamb was still nice and pink.

Thankyou to all involved in making this a very memorable day i would reccomend you to anyone.

Room Tip: We had our venue in the parker suite which overlooked the lake rooms 39 and 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We arrived Sunday 24th October, we stayed in room 18, The gold room, had a beautiful view of the lake and woke up to ducks quacking. The room was lovely and the bed was lovely and comfy had Sunday dinner and as usual the food and service were excellent. Breakfast the next day we got to the restaurant early as to beat the wedding party that stayed the same weekend, got a beautiful breakfast served fresh and hot from the kitchen. A fantastic stay and excellent value for money, we live just up the road in Sheffield but you can be anywhere in the country as the hotel is tucked away in its own valley, thanks to the staff for our stay can't wait ti come again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAKEFIELD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed on Thursday 27th Oct, a early birthday present for my boyfriend. We were in Room 2 which overlooked the entrance to the hotel. The room was spotless and very nicely decorated, we had champagne waiting for us which was very nice. We were booked into the restaurant for 8 o clock so decided to have a drink in the bar... which was expensive... but all hotels are... this is nothing out of the ordinary. The meal in the restaurant was fantastic, cant fault it at all... except we were so full we couldnt fit pudding in! Breakfast the next day was lovely, with a great variety. Look our for the peacocks which are happily wondering around the grounds...All in all a fantastic nights stay at Whitley Hall... so much so we took a brochure for the Weddings here!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the small lake..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We arrived on Friday 28th October for my brothers wedding. Having 4 children we booked two rooms in the new part of the hotel. We had arranged for an early check in for 1 room as we all needed to get ready. An early check in will cost you an extra £30 but as we were travelling over from Liverpool we had no choice. 20 minutes after arriving we were finally able to check in. There were 2 other guests in front of us and only one receptionist on 'go slow'! The rooms were very nice and clean with modern fixtures and fittings however the tea and coffee tray was very sparce. We had paid an extra £20 to hire a 'cot' for one of our rooms, this turned out to be a travel cot so I felt a little ripped off, maybe the hotel should consider dropping the charge for these.
The wedding itself was perfect with the photographs being taken outside the Parker suite afterwards. Fortunately the weather was bright but quite cold after an hour of photographs. We headed inside to get warm. The room my brother and his wife got married in was being transformed for the wedding breakfast. There were approx 50 of us stood around waiting for this to happen but nowhere for us to sit in the warm. With 8 children also present this was no joke - especially after an hour of standing! The staff refused to open up a seperate room for us to wait in, apparently this only happens if it is raining or cold!!!!! (which it was). It appeared that the whole day was run by 'kids' The only person over 20 I saw on the day was the receptionist or maybe she was the manager? They seemed quite unorganised at times and little things that weren't done right throughout the day certainly stressed my brother out on his big day which was a real shame.
The evening do went without a hitch but I am in agreement with other reviewers in that the drinks are far too expensive. 4 kids and £2 per 'fruit shoot' nearly doubled the cost of our stay!! Overall we had a nice stay, not quite perfect, ok as a one off but wouldn't return :o(

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0151EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Property: Whitley Hall Hotel
Address: Elliot Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing