We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the original”

Tamper Coffee - Sellers Wheel
Ranked #14 of 1,453 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tamper Sellers wheel is located 2 minute walk from Sheffield train station and the city centre. We have a great inside/outside eating area in a grade 2 listed, silversmiths building, along with a take away bar. We pride ourselves on our New Zealand roots, everything we do is centred around this, great coffee, great food (Locally sourced)and a bar serving NZ wines and a large selection of craft beers. We have a private meeting room and hold private functions.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“As good as the original”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Being a regular at the original Tamper I thought I'd give the new one a try. The building is lovely and as it was a nice day we sat out in the courtyard. At 11am on a Thursday it was packed. It's much bigger than the other place and focus's more on food with a more comprehensive menu. I just had a coffee (Sheffield's best flat white) and was after one of their delicious date scones but unfortunately the choice of cakes is not as good here. The food did look good and the girls on the next table even had a bottle of fizz. I will return to try the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    111
    37
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delirious happiness for the tastebud”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

i'm a new zealander so i must admit this cafe was winning already when i walked in the door and saw their beautiful feature wall, painted with new zealand wildlife. i ordered a feast for one: orange juice, a soy latte, and the big kiwi breakfast (veggie version). every part of this breakfast was sensational, the beans were smoky and flavoursome, the spinach was warm and buttery, the mushrooms were various and melted in the mouth, the eggs were perfect and the bread was crunchy where it should be and soft where it should be. i actually felt devastated two-thirds of the way through when i noticed i was full, because it all tasted so great i wanted to go on eating it until dusk. i'll probably come back to this cafe every day for the rest of my life!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HollySmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something different....”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went for lunch here today, love the building and decor. Food choice was varied, will need to go back to try more! Meal was well presented, perfectly cooked and very tasty - and very filling! Has a few points needing ironing out, namely to shorten the length of time it takes to order, but a pleasant change from the 'normal' city centre eating place. Will be nice to see how this place feels in the colder months too. Lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 220210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what Sheffield needed.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This restaurant/cafe is perfect for coffee and casual dining enthusiasts. It's cool, refined and very well considered.

The coffee is some of the best around, made by baristas who care about their coffee and have great knowledge of different blends and brewing methods.

The food was well above our expectations in all areas. Quick (less than ten minutes), fresh, inventive, modern yet classic, beautifully presented and good value. The combinations, apparently Kiwi, work perfectly, with none of the nonsense of fine dining.

The service isn't super attentive or professional but its part of the charm. The well trained kitchen and coffee team more than compensate for casual waiting staff.

Great coffee. Amazing food. Cool atmosphere. Don't go expecting to be treated like royalty, this place is casual, keep up with the Jones' elsewhere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Grayham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Pay no attention to early sub-standard reviews(Come on, give a new place some slack!) as any teething troubles they may have had in the first day or so have long gone.
Firstly- you will not get a better coffee in Sheffield, that's just a fact.
Secondly, sure, compared to other places the price of food may be a few quid higher but what price quality?! It's beautifully thought out, great generous portions and just, yknow, better than anywhere else.
The decor I could go on and on about, it's open light friendly and looks fantastic. I wish them well and will be back many many times to come.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Niall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamper Coffee - Sellers Wheel also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Tamper Coffee - Sellers Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing