We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic time for children of all ages!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheffield Weston Park Museum

Sheffield Weston Park Museum
Ranked #20 of 163 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Weston Park is an award-winning, family-friendly museum where the visitors come first. If visiting with children, simply wind up and release, but there is plenty of treasure here for adults too. Discover the real story of Sheffield, from its geological roots to the people, politics and music that shaped the modern city. Alongside old favourites such as Snowy the Polar Bear and Spike the Woolly Rhino, Weston Park plays host to a series of temporary exhibitions.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic time for children of all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

i went with my friend and our daughters (1 at 8 years old Nd 2 at 19 months). It was a wonderful hour and a half well spent. the children all had a fantastic time, even with the age gap there was plenty to do.And no buggy required! perfect and free!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Misdemeanour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    103
    31
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smaller than initially thought, but good for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The museum is a lot smaller than expected, with only about 6 large rooms with different exhibitions. One was on the theme of colour. The second was Sheffield as a city, with displays about steel and life in Sheffield. Anoyther room was about the Arctic- mainly a stuffed polar bear on display. The third room was a large collection if stuffed animals. However there was a problem with the lighting and so could not actually see the displays very clearly. Overall, the museum was clean and easy to walk around in. There were lots of staff around, who seemed willing to help. There were lots of benches to sit on and the toilets were clean. A good museum for kids as there are lots of interactive displays and places to play. There were activity sheets to keep kids stimulated and eager to work their way round the place. Would recommend for a light hour or two worth of entertainment

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank macansbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sheffields Museum is a treasure to be kept”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We always enjoy the Sheffield's best Museum, there is so much information about our lives and the way we have developed. There is always some interesting activities going on there. We saw a brilliant Magician there when the Magic exhibition was on, and lots fascinating
things about the art of illusion.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to Sheffield to see some of the culture and history and we weren't disappointed we will visit this again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyB145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a flying visit here (30 mins). Enjoyed the Japanese pottery exhibition and the museum had a really happy, hands on feel to it. Lots of buttons to press and a really interactive place for kids of all ages. Nice to learn a bit about Sheffield, its history and its people. Beautiful building set in the park which was a lovely open space by the university.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheffield Weston Park Museum also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Sheffield Weston Park Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing