We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled and scrummy ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grind Cafe

The Grind Cafe
Ranked #30 of 1,429 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
sheffield
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Chilled and scrummy ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We went for late brunch and had full English which was great. Coffee beautiful. I asked for decaf tea (usually a no) and I got the chirpy reply of 'of course'! Salads looked great. The sausage rolls looked that amazing my other half got one to take away which he devoured later. Cakes looked good too. Interior really nice and light and full of querky bits. Bit warm-pheww but other than that top marks guys. This discovery may not prove good for the waistline!

Helpful?
Thank sheffwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    77
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enamel mug of soup - yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

A quirky, original cafe with a great atmosphere, outdoor seating and a delicious selection of savoury and sweet food. Particularly liked the Tate and Lyle golden syrup tins of cutlery. Also walnuts and feta in a sandwich = win. Coffee here is excellent too. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best cafe in Sheffield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I've eaten at many a place in Sheffield, and Grind blows them all out of the water.

The staff are friendly, the food is amazing, the location is great, and the value for money is fantastic. I've ate there for breakfast, and for other meals, and I do not have one complaint. I've recommend them to many a person, and each come back saying how much they enjoyed it.

My main tip would be to get there early, any time after 11 on a weekend and you will struggle to get a seat, reservations cannot be made!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fab breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at the grind many items for breakfast and have taken away salads and cakes. The food is always delicious and there is a great selection available. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Would defiantly recommend a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Kelawinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have been to The Grind for lunch a few times now for breakfast and lunch and it has been excellent each time. Yummy, homemade food at a reasonable price considering the good quality, and in a really nice and interesting setting. The only very slight negative is that the music can be a bit loud sometimes - but maybe I'm just getting old!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grind Cafe also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Grind Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing