We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really tasty South Indian food”
Review of Maveli

Maveli
Ranked #45 of 1,434 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Sheffield City Centre's only authentic South Indian Restaurant where the food is freshly cooked on order. Enjoy the taste of succulent chicken, quail, lamb, fish ,prawns, calamari & egg dishes cooked in distinctive South Indian spices. Flavoursome vegetable dishes for those who love their veggies! Try delectable paper thin Dosas & Vadas (savoury doughnuts) drenched in South Indian style Chutneys & tangy Sambar. NOT UK's typical curry house fare! Find us on Glossop Rd ( end of West Street, at Sheffield Baths , Swim Inn Building ). Fully licensed Restaurant & Bar with a TAKE AWAY SERVICE too .Can cater for private events at home or other venues.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really tasty South Indian food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Lovely food and very good service. The house special of chicken in green curry was delicious! Its worth saving room for desert too - we had the stem ginger ice cream and mango sorbet. Yum yum!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abigail123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed the Nilagiri Chicken Curry and the desserts . Thanks for taking the time & trouble to write about us . See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    60
    10
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

One of the best Indian restaurant in Sheffield. Quality of the food is brilliant! I would recommend this restaurant for an exquisite South Indian food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about Maveli & for the words of appreciation . Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Indian Food with a difference”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely restaurant and far from the usual "Indian" meal in that this restaurant serves Southern Indian food, cooked by people from that region. The food is fresh and a little different; almost like a blend of Thai and Indian. Our reception, the service and the ambiance was excellent. And lovely to see and meet such lovely and friendly Indian people enjoying the food. There was such a lovely buzz about the place and everybody seemed smiling and friendly. There were six of us and we're all great fans of Indian food (including one vegetarian). None of us was disappointed and we will certainly be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravenbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Manager at Maveli, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for the kind words . Your appreciation means a lot to us ! Keralan food is very coconut / coconut milk based & it shares those ingredients in common with Thai cuisine . Guests who prefer more potent , pungent spices would probably enjoy Tamilian food more ! Vegetarian food is very important part of an Indian meal & we try to serve a reasonable amount of vegetable dishes to suit everyone's taste . Look forward to meeting you again at Maveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“South Indian food at its best!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hats off to team Maveli for providing such an authentic South Indian menu. I've been here a lot of times and every time I enjoyed the food as well as the ambiance. The service was also excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant for an exquisite Indian dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mep12tya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are always happy to meet our regular guests and especially match up to their expectations every time . Thank you so much for your comments and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
618 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“The best meal we have had at an Indian restaurant in Sheffield”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a South Indian restaurant on West Street near the Sheffield city centre. We went there on the basis of the tripadvisor scores and we were not disappointed. Like in every large city in the UK, there is a large number of Indian restaurants in Sheffield serving pretty acceptable, reasonably priced tasty food.
What we encountered here, however, was a clear step up from the Indian restaurants we encountered previously. Service was impeccable and the food delicious. The perfect taste here is achieved through the use of spices and is not based on heat. Portions are generous especially of the rice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank md1mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time & effort to write in about us . Maveli , being a South Indian restaurant, tries to offer guests an entirely different range of Indian food that is not very common to the UK. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal at Maveli . Look forward to meeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maveli also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Maveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing