We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An great addition to the Town Centre scene.”
Review of Maveli

Maveli
Ranked #35 of 1,477 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sheffield City Centre's only authentic South Indian Restaurant where the food is freshly cooked on order. Enjoy the taste of succulent chicken, quail, lamb, fish ,prawns, calamari & egg dishes cooked in distinctive South Indian spices. Flavoursome vegetable dishes for those who love their veggies! Try delectable paper thin Dosas & Vadas (savoury doughnuts) drenched in South Indian style Chutneys & tangy Sambar. NOT UK's typical curry house fare! Find us on Glossop Rd ( end of West Street, at Sheffield Baths , Swim Inn Building ). Fully licensed Restaurant & Bar with a TAKE AWAY SERVICE too .Can cater for private events at home or other venues.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went here on the spur of the moment. The other two S. Indian restaurants in Sheffield are excellent and this is no exception. We had (four of us) the Family Dhosa - absolutely enormous. I have no idea the size of the griddle it was made on but it must have been HUGE!!

The rest of the food was superb - and frankly I can't wait to go back again! Service is good, a little slow to get going but then really good. The King Cobra beer looks authentic (i.e. not made in Northampton) but be aware, it is 7.5%!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Folkiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We are happy you liked the huge family dosa . And yes , it does take up all the room on the griddle ! As all the food is made on the spot ,some times service may be a bit slow . Apologies for that . We shall be quicker next time .Hope to see you again . Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Maveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 307 of 318 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

The great thing about Maveli is that it is not a bog standard curry house in the middle of town. It is a South Indian restaurant where you will find many different dishes to try and won't be dissapointed!

There are some really lovely starters such as aubergine bhajjis and dosas. The Dosa is really good if you want something to share between two or maybe four depending on what size you get! It is a savoury pancake rolled up and filled with delicous things.

The menu is small, but you know that it is all freshly cooked and the price is not too bad, at around £6-8 for a main course, and then £2 or so for rice.

They serve beers with favourites like Cobra and King Cobra available, and the staff are attentive and very pleasant indeed.

Thank GemskiSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We are pleased you liked the dosas. Dosas are particular to the Southern parts of India where different types of dosas are made with minor variations in ingredients . We have tried our best to keep the cuisine South Indian . Thanks for taking the time to write about Maveli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Was looking forward eagerly to the opening of Maveli when I saw the signs a few months ago. Went for the first time today and was quite impressed. Authentic coconut chutney (the red one is quite spicy!), crisp dosa and flavoursome masala filling. Thrilled that it serves halal meat too!

Marked down a little as my mutton masala dosa was cool at the edges (though filling was warmer) - okay for me but others may have preferred it served warmer. Also they forgot about our drinks (but were very apologetic about it and made masala tea specially for my friend).

All in all, great value for money. I will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lblace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Apologies for the cool dosa & the mix up over the drinks . We promise to do better on your next visit. Thanks for the review .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Quite a different sort of curry experience and great to have something so original in the city centre. The south Indian style is quite a departure from the traditional english curry house but all the dishes are distinct, tasty and delicious. A group of 6 of us had a good selection including meat and vegetarian dishes and everything was superb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lababa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your positive words . We are happy you liked your experience at Maveli & hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Third visit in as many weeks; had the Calamari Curry and must say it was fantastic. Good amount of Calamari and rich based sauce ideal dipping a Parotta. Keep up the good work! They were 90% full @ 8.30pm which is great

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mario090684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

It's been a pleasure having you again at Maveli. Thank you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maveli also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Maveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing