We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could be a 5 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Monk Pub - CLOSED

The Old Monk Pub
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“could be a 5 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I missed this place and was other half that noticed. Really nice inside but outside I never noticed it was a pub! Go in have look for your self don't walk by like us as not as bad as it looks from outside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajmd2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    19
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shocking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Waited 40 mins for a mixed grill which was a very inedable cold when it arrived on a none to busy Monday! Customer service was none existent! Very disappointed! Will never reccomend to any one zero stars all round!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fidsunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“It's a city centre pub. That's what it is.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

It's a city centre pub. That's what it is, nothing more nothing less. My partner & I called in here, early, 12:30pm, Sunday 19th Jan, before going to a nearby cinema.

Pint of lager & half of cider, ok, just under a fiver. Same as most places in Sheffield. We decided to order 2 cheese burgers, £7.25 each. Due to the time of day & very few customers, the service was prompt & to be honest, looking at some of the previous comments, we were surprised by the quality of food & the size of the portions. The burgers came with a little bit of salad & plenty of chips. The burgers themselves did have the consistance of ground beef & being made by hand, rather than a portion controlled, process type & they were very tasty. The cheese wasn't the usual plastic process type but proper cheese. Overall for a pub snack, it more than hit the mark.

As for the atmosphere of the Old Monk. Due to the fact that the pub was a bank in a previous life, the high ceilings don't help & it can be freezing in the winter months due to having entrances at either side of the building. However I've been in here on various days & times over the years & it's popular, early evenings & at weekends but I'd say it comes into its own when a major sporting event is on or just to while a few hours away watching football on tv. Plenty of tv's dotted about as well as a massive drop down screen.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeenIt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiang rai
Level Contributor
136 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“epitome of a bad pub?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

very expensive for a poor atmosphere, food was cancelled due to an ordering breakdown. black bin liners over urinals & a sink! to me, 'the old monk' epitomises the dying relic of city centre pubs run as failing businesses, customers generally want an atmosphere, decent drinks & decent food at a decent price... BUT... as it was showing the football there was a decently sized gaggle of folk in there!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waterpist0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rubbish food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

went for a meal prior to going to the theatre. Ordered cheeseburger and chili chicken some nachos to nibble on while waiting for the mains and a bottle of wine. The food was terrible, my friend didn't touch the chicken, she only ate the salad which was a bit wilted and my burger was a tasteless piece of cardboard. The nachos were ok but you can't do much wrong to them. Will not eat here again disgusting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shuwhinnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Monk Pub also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing