We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishops' House Museum

Bishops' House Museum
Ranked #29 of 163 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Please check our website for any last minute changes to opening hours. Bishops' House is the best surviving example of a timber framed house in Sheffield. As well as being a treasured part of Sheffield's architectural heritage, the building is also a museum containing exhibitions on life in the 16th and 17th centuries with two rooms decorated in Jacobean Style. Bishops' House has been managed on behalf of Sheffield City Council since 2011 by The Friends of Bishops' House, a charity run entirely by volunteers, with exhibits still being curated by Museums Sheffield.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

one of sheffields oldest houses and is great to look around, located in a great park ideal for kids and running around, if you live in sheffield its a must

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Along with Abbeydale Industrial Hamlet and Kelham Island, this is one of Sheffield's smaller museums that I had known about for more than 30 years, before I had visited it.

Over the years, I have spent many an hour visiting a wide variety of historic buildings in the UK and further afield - most of which have been constructed on a much grander scale - but the modesty of the Bishop's House appealed to me.

Sheffield isn't known for its architectural heritage, despite the proximity of good stone which, in other places in Yorkshire, have been used elaborately to express the wealth of their owners; it is therefore a great surprise to find a well preserved timber framed house here.

I have always thought that the Old Queen's Head public house, on Pond Hill next to Sheffield Interchange, is quite remarkable - not least for it having never been destroyed by the wave of post-war development that took place around it. Students of Sheffield's architecture should really make the effort to visit this special place and I can say the same for the Bishop's House.

The fact that I spent less than 20 minutes here doesn't reflect upon its architectural and historical value in any way - I was just more keen to take a walk around one of Sheffield's renowned green spaces in the summer sunshine. That said, it was time enough to see some fine architectural details, wander up and down a couple of old staircases, whilst minding your head or negotiating the potential trip hazards when stepping across the various thresholds into different rooms.

There are some nice examples of Tudor furniture and the rooms are full of household items, which I am sure that the many school groups who visit this place will find very interesting; however, like my visit to Abbeydale Industrial Hamlet, it seems obvious that this museum is way down the list of Sheffield's priorities for spending money - especially as far as the presentation is concerned.

My lasting impression of visiting Bishop's House will be its fantastic oak floorboards and then walking down through Meersbrook Park, where the steep escarpment opens up great views across the centre of Sheffield and a few other interesting details can be seen...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScottEngering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sheffield's oldest property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Over 500 years old and set at the top of Meersbrook park (get the 20 bus from town and walk down!). A small property that can be visited completely within 1 hour, but it is free to get in and is a fascinating snapshot of life. The view from the park as you walk back into town is also worth it as you can just about see all of Sheffield centre from one point.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

wasnt really intending to visist this place but ooo so glad I did, I love old house and this is up there with the really old, so worth having a look around and trying to see how it was that families managed lives in what we may think of as a shoebox size, well worth going and helping this place stay open for us all

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A total surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Not at all what I expected when first visited this place a couple of years ago. It's amazing! We take all our friends there now who visit Sheffield and none if them has yet been disappointed. A fantastic step back in time, totally fascinating and well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gladys1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishops' House Museum also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Bishops' House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing